Near departure


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
July 12th 2012
Published: July 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Coral beach of CarraroeCoral beach of CarraroeCoral beach of Carraroe

A beautiful spot in the village I'll be staying in. This coral beach is actually made of coralline algae, according to Wikipedia. Lots more of my own photos to come.
Just five days until a life-long dream comes true for me.

It's not often many of us can say that, and while touching down on the Dublin airstrip may be ordinary for some, I'm going to cherish that moment I see the Emerald Isle rise to greet me.

Thanks to St.Thomas University in Fredericton, my great Irish Studies profs there, and the ICUF (Ireland Canada University Foundation), I receieved a scholarship to study Irish Gaelic for 4 weeks in a small village in the Connemara area of Ireland, about an hour west of Galway city. I completely freaked out when they told me I would be going to Carraroe (or An Cheathrú Rua in Irish) and living with a host family there while I attend classes and cultural activities during the program.

I'm especially excited for the Irish dancing, and those who know me might remember a certain inebriated night where my own attempts at jigging ended in a sprained ankle...

I don't really know when my interest in Ireland began, but it was likely when I found out it was a green island in the Atlantic where horses roamed and writers flourished. (The horses, especially, caught my attention in elementary school).

This blog is a way to keep family and friends updated on my travels while exploring Ireland from July 16-August 25, and hopefully get some help along the way from fellow travelers in Éire. Once I get back into the Irish language swing of things, I'll post some basic phrases in case you find yourself in rural Ireland and need to find the pub.

The count-down is on!

Slán go fóill, (Farewell)

Haley

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb