Ireland Part 2


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
June 16th 2007
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I'm still kicking around Ireland, at least for a few more days. On Tuesday I headed to Galway for what I had hoped would be a quiet evening in a little coastal town. But when I checked into my hostel it just happened that Janna and Amanda (2 girls from the Pubcrawl in Dublin) were staying there with their tour group. So I decided to tag along with the tour group that evening. The tour guide didn't seem to care, and it meant I got into all the spots they were going for free! So we first went to a popular Irish pub with a live band and irish dancing...very entertaining. Then we went to a second Irish pub for more live music. It was a great night, and kind of nice to be with an organized group so I didn't have to do any thinking or planning, just following... So I got up the next morning and headed south to the Cliffs of Moher. They're basically just...cliffs...but extrememly impressive cliffs that jut out into the ocean. Again the pictures I took really don't do them justice.

I then caught a bus to Cork where I was planning
old man with statuesold man with statuesold man with statues

I don't know, I just found this funny
on staying for a few days. On the bus ride to Cork I started feeling pretty crappy. Probably due to the fact that I've been getting like 4 hours of sleep a night and living on a diet of bread and cheese. So I decided to try and take it easy in Cork to try and get better before my cold got too bad. I even made a real meal at the hostel that night with vegetables and everything. But alas, I still got sick. So to be totally honest, my time in Cork really wasn't that great. I was sick the whole time, and was stuck in the hostel for 2 days because it wouldn't stop raining. I tried to venture out to see the city in between downpours but everytime I'd get stuck in the rain and have to walk home drenched. Not good for a cold. I'm sure Cork is a great city, but unfortunately it's tainted by my crappy experience there.

So, yesterday morning the rain had finally subsided somewhat, so I headed to the Blarney Castle with a few people from the hostel. It was pretty impressive, though quite similar to the other castle ruins I've seen in Scotland and Ireland. What was really cool was getting to kiss the Blarney Stone! It's at the very top of the castle so you have to climb like 4 crazy steep stone spiral staircases to get up there. Then you have to lie on your back and lean your head down a crack in the floor towards the ground. I'm not scared of heights, but this was actually a little unsettling, but very cool at the same time.

I then caught a bus to Cashel for the night to see the Rock of Cashel, an old castle/cathedral. It's pretty cool because it sits on a cliff right in the city, so you can get an awesome view of the city when you visit the site. From the Castle ruins I could see the ruins of an old abbey in the distance which looked pretty cool, and I wanted to go check it out. But getting there was kind of tricky. I don't know, maybe there's a tourist entrance I didn't know about, but the only way I could see of getting there was to trek through a couple of cow fields...seriously. And I'm not gonna lie, it was a little intimidating. Those things are alot bigger up close. When I got to the abbey there were cows everywhere, even blocking the entrance. It was weird. I guess this isn't a big tourist attraction. It was cool none the less. I thought even cooler than the Rock of Cashel, but that may have just been the added ambiance provided by the cows.

So now I'm in Dublin for the night before heading to Northern Ireland and then Portugal on Tuesday! Woohoo! I can't wait for some sun. Hope all is well with everyone, and thanks for all the messages 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Put at Pub in GalwayPut at Pub in Galway
Put at Pub in Galway

me, Leanne, Amanda, Janna
Cashel2Cashel2
Cashel2

Rock of Cashel in Background


17th June 2007

Ireland Part 2
Hi Jen, Again, I am in "awe" of my niece! When we read your commentaries we just shake our heads....do we even know our niece anymore! :) Your adventures are what travel books are made of! I think your calling is of a "world tourist Guide"!! Awesome Jenny......keep those emails coming....you make our day! As always....stay save! Love, Cathy and Dave
19th June 2007

Hope you're feeling better
Hi Jen - hope your cold is on the way out. Maybe the sunshine in the south will help. Love reading about your adventures with the cows and tea-dancers and seeing all your pictures. Keep it up! Can't wait for Portugal. Be careful and stay safe Love Dad

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb