A wee patch for wildlife


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
August 4th 2023
Published: August 4th 2023
Edit Blog Post

After a month away my lawn needed cut. The grass was too rank over much of it for flowers to struggle through, but I did leave a patch of yellow dandelion-like flowers uncut. I think they are Autumn Hawkbit, apparently an indicator of dry soil (definitely not, although my garden is on quite a steep slope and acid soil, very likely).

It's amazing how much wildlife exists in that 4m2. It was the butterflies that first drew my attention to it, but on looking a bit closer, there are quite a few other species of insect as well. If the sun appears at all, so do the small white butterflies. I suspect they are also interested in the nastursiums in a nearby pot. I haven't looked up what they are. If anyone knows the species names I'd be delighted to know.

The little rowan tree seeded itself and now has its first crop of berries. They'll probably be gone by the time I get home again after my next wee trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

BeeBee
Bee

No idea what species
MothMoth
Moth

There are a surprising number of little non-descript micromoths in a relatively small area. There seems to be at least two different species.
Wasp?Wasp?
Wasp?

I think this is a species of wasp.
HoverflyHoverfly
Hoverfly

Another species of hoverfly.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb