My First Few Days


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Wicklow » Wicklow
October 23rd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

GreystonesGreystonesGreystones

View of the mountains surrounding the sea at Greystones
Since my last blog, I have learned much more about my host family, the Irish culture, and teaching in Ireland. My host family is very wonderful. I was extremely worried about the money situation since the exchange rate from the American dollar to the Euro is so poor. I am not as worried anymore because for 175 Euros a week (~$250 American Dollars), I get my own room with plenty of storage for all of my things, a warm shower every morning, three meals a day, and my host mom does my laundry. I do not think this is a bad deal at all. I really don't see myself spending too much money on things other than travel. My host family consists of the mother, Muriel, the father, Alistair, two sons, Alexander (13), and Kenneth (20), and a daughter, Alyson (17). Muriel and Alistair are very kind and go out of their way to make us comfortable in our surroundings. Muriel informed us that she would be taking us around one day a week to show us different parts of the area and they have already invited us to many events in the months to come. Alexander is an absolute
My HomeMy HomeMy Home

View of the outside of my home
trip! He is so funny and is always getting in trouble at the dinner table for talking too loudly and interrupting conversation. He drops by my room at least once a night to ask for candy. Alyson is very kind. She is always telling us about all the things she has to do in school and all three children are very into sailing.
As for the Irish culture in general, I have found myself picking up a bit of the accent and using many of their words in my conversation. All of the Irish citizens I have met have been kind and willing to help.
I started school on Monday the 22nd of October. This was quite an experience I must say. Before I departed for my host country, I was told by the overseas teaching staff that we would be doing far less teaching in our host countries and much more observing. When I walked into my school, I was greeted my the principal who allowed no time for questioning, however she rushed me to my classroom, introduced me to my supervising teacher, and went back to her duties. My supervising teacher's name is Miss Wendy Morgan.
Rocky CoastRocky CoastRocky Coast

The coast of Greystones, Ireland
Wendy is a very straight forward person and I knew we would be a great match from the start. I am a quiet person and I lack confidence in my teaching, but Wendy made me get up in front of the class and teach a lesson without any preparation. This was very difficult for me, but I think it did me well. On this same day the principal pulled me into a different classroom and asked me to teach a class while the teacher's aid went on break. The official teacher for the classroom went home sick earlier that morning so the aid was teaching the remainder of the day. So all-in-all it was an overwhelming day, but I do believe my confidence has boosted. I will now be teaching a unit on the United States, working with other classroom where they need assistance, and teaching social studies lessons.
Sarah and I have some travel plans in store. This weekend my friend David is coming into town and staying with my family on Friday. Friday night we plan to go out in Greystones and on Saturday morning, we plan to take the DART (the train to Dublin) to the city and explore it during the day. In the evening we plan to go out with David and his friends. Next week we are going on a paddywagon tour around Ireland. For 209 Euros, we get breakfast, a room in a hostel, entrance to the places we visit, and travel expenses. It is a 6 day trip and we start in Dublin and travel completely around the country and arrive back in Dublin on Saturday.

That's all I have for now---check out my pictures on webshots, I will also post a few on here!

Love you,
Kim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb