Doors that tell the Story


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Waterford » Waterford
January 20th 2015
Published: January 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So I've been sitting here thinking of what I should write for my first blog post. I want something epic, and inspiring, and memorable. But I got nothing. It's just me sitting at my computer, watching the occasional Netflix film or TV show, occasionally glancing at the tab for a blog. And thinking. So should I even be writing something if I got nothing to say? But you see, everyone's got something to say. Everyone has a voice to be heard, a smile to be seen, and a step to take.

I guess you could say this is my travel blog. Since November 2013, I've been diagnosed with the travel bug. It's sort of like an addiction, but it's not bad. It's a good thing. It's the opportunity and the key to recovering. I have an itch to see the world and explore new things. I want to go on as many adventures as I can. In November 2013, I went on this amazing cruise with my family traveling from California to Florida through the Panama Canal. I went to all these new countries and saw different cultures - how people lived, what they wore, what they ate, their houses. Each door was different. Each door had a story to tell.

And here I am now. I opened one of those doors. I'm in Ireland. I have always had a dream to go to Ireland. I made it happen. I picked up my boots, packed my bags, and was off.

It's been exciting, nerve-racking, cold, a little weird, but spectacular. You read all those articles that say "If you're in your mid-20s you should live in another country" or "the best decision I ever made was traveling". Well I can check that off my bucket list. Living in Ireland for 5 months. Interning in Environmental Studies, my major. Meeting new people. Trying new foods. Enjoying that Irish Guinness. I sometimes thought I was too old to be doing this. This is what people do when they're 20 or 21, not my age. No I'm not old but I thought about how it's not the norm. Yeah, but I'm not the norm. I'm Luni. I'm Lonersquad. I go against the grain. I paint horizontally, not in vertical lines. And I'm okay with that. I'm pretty sure my friends are okay with that too. They rock, by the way. Fake it till you make it. Don't worry about what other people are thinking. It's about rocking those mismatching socks, and that mismatching personality. I'm so lucky. It's all been a blessing. A blessing in disguise? Nope I'm not really hiding it. I'm me and living loud and clear. I am thankful, so so thankful.

I thank God each day for my time here, for the people I've met, the places I've traveled, the places I've yet to go, the people I've yet to meet, and most importantly the people that have grounded me and taught me what I need to know for life (Notre Dame quote there). But those people are my parents. Without them, I could have gone nowhere and would not have been able to open so many doors.

Thank you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb