Its a long way to Tipperary- Oslo to Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Tipperary » Tipperary
August 20th 2018
Published: August 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I left the hotel at 10am this morning to make my way to the airport. I was able to easily walk to the platform with the fast train and didn't have to wait long for the next one.

The trip to the airport only took about 20 minutes so I arrived in plenty of time to check my bag in (just under 20kg) and spend some time browsing the shops. My flight was due to depart at 1:10pm so I had plenty of time. Then of course it was slightly delayed but that didn't bother me too much.

The flight ended up leaving about 30 minutes late but was quite ok. I was flying with Norweigan airshuttle and they don't provide any food and drinks - but you can purchase on board. I bought a roll at the airport so all good. I landed at Dublin airport at 3pm and waited a while to collect my bags. But - there was no rush as David and Nick weren't due to arrive until 6:30. Once I had my bags I headed out via customs and found a spot where I could have a beer and some crisps.

Time was killed. I started to walk around and that's when I realised they would be arriving at a different terminal to the one I was at. I headed to the right terminal but David messaged to say their flight was delayed. This just meant more time to kill. They eventually landed at 7:45pm so it was a long wait indeed!

It was very exciting to see them! We headed to the Hertz hire car desk and picked up the keys to the car they had hired. After a bit of time sorting out our luggage and working out how the car works (haha) we were on the road to Tipperary!

By now it was closer to 8:30pm and we had a 2 hour trip ahead of us. The motorway was great though and we made good time. As we got closer we detoured slightly as Brid had recommended we go via Cashel to see the castle. It was well worth the detail as it was lit up at night. We then drove on the country backroads to our accommodation in the Glen of Arhlow. That was interesting! The roads are narrow and usually have rock walls lining then, covered in some sort of growth, making it interesting when a vehicle was coming the opposite way.

To our delight Steph was still up waiting for us to arrive! It was so wonderful to see her and once we had our bags and stuff in the lodge, we had some wine and chips (this was our dinner) and spent some time catching up. The first of many late nights ☺️

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb