First Final


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Limerick » Limerick
May 10th 2010
Published: May 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 112-

So I am sitting in the cafeteria on Level M, Block E, at a table on a huge orange cube with a Coke Zero and Vittel water bottle at my side. I am studying for my EH 4002 or Renaissance Literature final at 4, so in a little less than two hours I will happily begin the end of this module- thank goodness! I am mostly writing this blog now because I am VERY tired of studying. I feel like I have stuffed as much as I can into my head and am listening to Heavy Rain soundtrack which, while usually allows me to concentrate, all I can think about is writing something creative and daring- not King Lear and Andrew Marvell. I have 12 tabs opened, one for each poem and piece of literature linked to Sparknotes or some other source. I also have youtube opened playing the soundtrack and of course this tab for writing. Ugh. I am bored.

However, I was productive- I got 3 thank-you cards for various people I think deserve thank you cards- my Sunday taxi drive Peter, my SFC leaders Lori and Brent, and my AIFS adviser Elaine- all wonderfully helpful, kind, and considerate of me and other international students and made my stay here very enjoyable and at times bearable through rough patches when I wanted to go home. Without these people I am not sure what I would have done- I would not have gotten to go to London, I would not go to Limerick Baptist Church, and I would not have the wonderful fellowship of fellow Christians from Ireland and other countries gathered in a lovely home in the suburbs on Thursday evenings. I will miss everyone very much I think. I am just now realizing I have less than a week left now and I want to finish up this final today so I can go and enjoy the little bit of time I have left.

I just had some sweet and sour chicken and it was delicious- I will miss this nice cafeteria- it's served me very well this semester.

I was talking to Beau last night and was thinking about all things that I've gotten used to here and things I'll only be able to associate with Ireland from now on- one of the biggest, and silliest things is the show Modern Family. it seems silly, but if it weren't for Ireland, I'd never know the humor of "casa blanca."

I am afraid of missing Ireland, though right now I am rather ready to go home, but I know for a fact in a months time or even less, I will want to jump on a bus to Galway and I know I won't be able to and knowing I can't makes me sad.

Ok, that passed a bit of time, back to studying for a little while then final, then PIZZA 😊 at my LAST and FINAL AIFS meeting 😞

I just thought about it, sweet-and sour- chicken is an appropriate dish for today since I am feeling rather bitter-sweet about leaving right now as I listen to Heavy Rain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb