White Ireland, not green! ... (Day 0 to Day 3)


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kilkenny » Kilkenny
January 7th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

First of all, this is not the way I wanted this blog to come out. I wanted the pictures mixed in the text. Anyway, too long to fix. Next time...

Some part of this blog will be in english for my english speaking friends
... et le reste va etre en francais pour ceux qui parlent les deux langues de toutes facons.

Note : Ma famille et quelques collegues de travail vont visiter ce site. Il n'est donc pas necessaire de faire allusion a mon passe heroinomane-pedophile-mangeur de femmes. Some familly members and work colleagues will be visiting this site, so there's no need commenting about my Law degree at Harvard and my Engineering one at MIT performed in the same time, or my Peace Nobel Prize and any other similarities.

So this is how it goes ...

After years of planning and hard work, and after convincing my mom and grandmother that I wouldn't get kidnapped during my trip, everything was lined up for me to finally do it ...


J'ai eu peu de temps avant de partir pour finaliser mes preparatifs (je devrais encore recevoir des trucs commander par ebay dans les prochains jours ... chez nous a Montreal) mais j'ai eu le temps de passer quelques bonnes soirees de qualite et memorables avec mon monde ... dont certains que je n'avais pas vu depuis longtemps ... (voire photos qui devaient se trouver ici).

After renting my condo, selling my car, dealing my 9 months vacation with the boss, getting my vaccins (sp?), insurances and visas, I was gone (picture with the bag and the door).

Transit by New York was about the 100th time I landed here in the past 3 years and finally convinced me that I was doing the right thing...

Dublin is a big cosmopolitan city where you have Burger Kings every 10 meters. You hear every language in the street and there's tons of shopping centers. It reminded me Sainte-Catherine Street between Crescent and University ... my favorite hang out place in Montreal. But in the same time, there's also pubs every 10 meters. And great pubs they are ...


Leurs vieux styles victoriens et leurs ambiances chaleureuses te donnent toujours envie de boire une derniere pinte de Guiness avant de te coucher. (photo d'un pub tres accueillant)

But there's other things than drinking places in Dublin. With their rich history, you still can find some interesting places even if Dublin is the most americanized european city I've seen so far (calm down Jon!) (pictures of St-Patrick Cathedral, Anglo-Norman Church and Dublin Walls).

Aujourd'hui je suis arrive a Kilkenny. Tout le contraire de Dublin. J'adore ces villages (population 9000) ou il y a autant d'attraits que dans les grosses villes. My trip really kicked in today as people here speak with a real stronger accent than in Dublin. Also eventough it is a little touristy here, I am the only tourist!! And this is because of the "Big Chill". It's their worst winter since the 60's and it's so funny to see them go. Le pays est comme en crise, c'est pas des jokes. Il manque de bouffe dans les epiceries et le transport est perturbe. Ils enlevent le demi-centimetre de glace/neige avec des pelles pour la terre et le peu de commercants sachant que le sel fait fondre la glace lancent du sel de table sur le trottoir devant leurs commerces.

C'est ca qui est ca. Je dois encore m'habituer a la conduite a gauche et regarder du bon cote de la rue lorsque je traverse, sinon il y a toujours moyen de s'adapter (photo)

Next blogs will be shorter

With love,

Nikolas


PS : Merci a tous ceux qui m'ont envoyer des mots d'encouragements avant de partir, que ce soit par message, en personne ou par email. It's always nice to know that there's some people somewhere in the world that loves you ... sniff!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



7th January 2010

Kilkenny
Dude! j'suis jaloux de ta possibilité d'assouvir ta nerdité... c'est cool tes comments, enjoy le trip!
7th January 2010

foto
hai incominciato a fare foto ...bravo, buona continuazione
7th January 2010

NICE !!
Good to see you were thinking of me.....What I would do for a fresh Guiness !! I got my name in Nicks blog....my life is complete. Have fun my friend, Jon Q
7th January 2010

pédophile mangeur d'hadicapés
On dirait que tu t'amuses le jeune, continu comme ça !!!!!
7th January 2010

NICE!
Salut Nikolas, Trop nice ton blog! et en fait je sais pas trop ce que tu fais mais j'imagine le tour du monde en 9 mois???? En t.k ca donne le gout le suivre ton trip!!! Continue de nous faire découvrir le monde et qui sait on va peut ce revoir à ton retour! Take care et surtout ne te fais pas kidnaper!"!! Have fun, Enjoy it's one in a lifetime! ciaoxx
8th January 2010

Hello!
So glad to hear from you!!! Love Momxxxxx
8th January 2010

Allo Nikolas!! Contente de te lire! Je me demandais où tu en étais justement. Merci de nous tenir au courant! x x x x
9th January 2010

Très cool. Quel trippe de fou...Je ne suis pas au courant de ton itinéraire alors ce serai très instructif de lire tes blogs. Je ne sais pas si ça se rendra à toi. Val=nul en technologie. Anyway j'aime mieux t'envoyer un mail. a+
12th January 2010

Congratulations
Congratulations on starting your trip. Hope your hair dryer didn't blow that outlet in your last picture.
13th January 2010

Te suivre
Bravo! Nikolas L'Equipe te suit dans ton périple, photos très appréciés Ciao!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb