Waterville to Sneem


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Sneem
July 13th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.8373, -9.90187

We stopped in Sneem for a lunch that was touted by Dylan as being one of the best restaurants to eat at. The place was owned by a married couple (the husband had grown up with Maureen O'Hara and were friends with her). The restaurant was very pretty inside, but was very small. A basket of sandwiches were already on the table for us along with a basket of scones (large biscuits) and homemade jelly. People could drink either coffee, tea, or water. One had a choice of either a ham sandwich (1 thin slice of ham covered with chopped lettuce and mayo dressing on a wheat sandwich bread that was cut in half) or a tomato cheese sandwich (2 tomato slices with grated cheese (possibly cheddar) covered with a mustard sauce on white bread cut in half). I ended up sitting with some of the snooty women since I was a single eater and not part of a group that toured together. I never said a word to the others or they to me. When I came back from using the restroom, many of the group had left or were leaving. So, no desert was served. So for the much touted lunch (2 halves of a whole sandwich and 1 scone and a glass of water) that we had to make reservations for, cost me € 12.50! That is $ 18.75!!! I couldn't believe that was it. This was an optional activity that we didn't have to do. We could have gotten our own food if we wanted for, but Dylan strongly recommended this place. I think I am going have to rethink my choices down the road. So far, it seems like many of the optional venues are not all that great and are not worth the money. After leaving the restaurant, I headed up the street. A bridge crossed over a wonderful waterfall. The middle of the sidewalk along the bridge was a large metal grate and balcony, so you could see straight down to the water. It was very alarming at first, but I spent just a short time on the bridge. We boarded the bus at 1:00.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0152s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb