Adventure in Ireland!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Killarney
July 20th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Biking around the LakeBiking around the LakeBiking around the Lake

The start of the trip. Biking aorund the Lakes of Killarney
Said goodbye to Galway and took the bus to Killarney. The bus isn't a bad way to travel. It gives me a chance to plan a little (or sleep). I pretty much sorted out what I'm going to do in the UK on the ride down.
When I got to town (around 130), I checked into the hostel (Neptune's....not bad) and then rented a bike to go explore the National Park on the edge of town.
The guy who rented me the bike gave me a map and suggested that since it was so late in the day I ride around the lake but not do the full loop around the lake and the gap of Dunloe. Of course that was just a challenge for me!
I took off on the bike around the scenic lakes and then took a short cut that should take me to the gap according to the map. What the map didn't show was the flooded portions of the trail. I ran into a couple coming from the other direction who said that the water was 3.5ft in some places, but they made it.
SO I rolled up my pants, lifted up the incredibly heavy rental bike and walked across. No problem....the water was only up to my knees.....At the third flooded section the water was a little deeper.....what to do????? Since I was in the middle of nowhere, I decided to take off my pants and walk through. That worked ok on the first flooded section, but half way through the second, a guy pedaled up in the other direction. I'm sure he was quite surprised to see me! Fortunately he did NOT pull out his camera!
Made it through the rest unscathed and then worked my way up the gap (very steep), but was rewarded by the fast trip down.
I made it back to the shop with 30 minutes to spare!

Today I took a bus trip around the Ring of Kerry. Very beautiful. Tomorrow I am going kayaking on the lake next to the castle! Woohoo!!!! Killarney is great!

I also COOKED in the hostel for the first time. This is just like camping which is the only other time I cook!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The floodThe flood
The flood

One of the flooded sections of the trail
Bike trip viewBike trip view
Bike trip view

The Black Valley on the way up the Gap
Top of the Gap!Top of the Gap!
Top of the Gap!

Made it to the top! Now time for the fun trip down!
Going back downGoing back down
Going back down

View going down the gap towards Killarney
Ring of KerryRing of Kerry
Ring of Kerry

Beautiful view of the ocean from the beginning of the trip
End of the PeninsulaEnd of the Peninsula
End of the Peninsula

View from the end of the Peninsula
Ring FortRing Fort
Ring Fort

This one's for you Mom!
Lake view from the topLake view from the top
Lake view from the top

This is looking down on the section I rode the bike through the day before. The flood trail ended at the little white house.


20th July 2010

awesome
Hi Anne-- this is so awesome! I love the photos, I'm just curious about what you cooked? haha Kim
20th July 2010

Great Travel blog
Thanks for posting your blog. Really enjoying your travels.
21st July 2010

Trip
Now I'm getting jealous. You are having a much better time riding around Killarney than I am reviewing contracts.
22nd July 2010

Anne's new job as a Tour Director
Anne, you are doing too good of a job at selling this lifestyle. At last count, we have at least 6 people ready to show up on your Hostel doorstep. Although, after your latest enrty, I'm curious about the dress-code (pants optional???)
22nd July 2010

What Anne cooks
I know what you cooked. You are great a blackening fish right? Did you pack your iron skillet?
23rd July 2010
Biking around the Lake

Hard riding?
Or Hard drinking? Lay off the Guiness and the bars will not look like this! Did you go forward or have to look back to go in reverse? Have fun Anne, Cav already misses you!
25th July 2010

Yeah! You're Doing Great!
Annie - Am totally enjoying your trip. Great narrative and pictures. Didn't know you could cook, even camping! Keep the stories and pics coming. I can tell you're having a great time. Alice
25th July 2010

new sunday morning ritual - reading Anne's Blog
Reading your blog on Sunday, makes the work week bearable now. You are doing a GREAT job with the photos and the write-ups, which I am sure is a lot of work, but please keep them coming. Not sure your mom would approve of making new friends by wading thru water in your skivvies, but you gotta do what you gotta do......
25th July 2010

you have similar interst in signs funny strange or just good looking it sounds like your having a great time take care
26th August 2010

What water
And you didn't ride through the the water, are you becoming a european sissy lol love the pictures!
26th August 2010

What water
That has to be the first water you haven't ridden through. Your not getting soft on us are you?

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb