Halloween 2016


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
October 28th 2016
Published: November 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Normally I hate Halloween. I don't know why because I love dressing up for plays and such, but the idea of Halloween really turns me off. However, since I'm in Ireland I decided that I was going to enjoy myself this year. My Halloween weekend started off on Wednesday night. A group of us soccer girls decided to go out and we dressed up in shorts and jerseys and went as soccer players. Really original right? It was so much fun. I really am glad I decided to join the team and met such amazing girls that really accept me.

I took Thursday night off and opted to sleep instead of going out. Friday night Bre, Erin, Brooke, and I dressed as Minnie Mice. We all had different takes on the costume; Bre wore a nightdress with Minnie on it, Erin wore a black dress, Brooke wore the nightdress, and I wore a red skirt and a black shirt and we all had the ears. Nobody else was really dressed up, but we went to a bar where other API people were and it was a fun night.

Sunday was the Macnas Parade. Apparently they don't do it often in Galway so we were lucky that we got to witness it. I went as Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz and I have never been happier. I was absolutely in love with my costume. We got to Shoppe Street and everyone was dressed up. The parade itself was crazy and very dark. It was mystical and the floats were incredibly built. It was the kind of parade that I know would never be in the United States, and it's a shame because it was magical to watch. After we decided to get food. Everywhere we thought of was very crowded so we decided to go down Abbeygate to see what was open. All of the sudden we see this crowd of people taking pictures with this man whom we had no idea of his identity. Bre asked this girl who he was and she replied, "That's the president of Ireland." What?? So, even dressed up, we made our way through the crowd and got a picture with the President of Ireland. I would mark that night as a win.

I had a great time on Halloween weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb