The Way to Galway and the Aran Islands


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
March 31st 2008
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: By the Sea 13 secs
2: Inishmor 11 secs
Well, I took a two night trip to Galway (the city of Tribes) in the Republic which is considered the art center of Ireland and called one of the sexiest cities in Europe (which is good to know). It is not a very large city but there are a few things to see and more outside the city. I enjoyed just walking by the sea and walking through the town square (Eyre Square) which is home to a monument of President John Fitzgerald Kennedy who visited Galway shortly before his death. On my second day, I went to the Aran Islands (to be more exact, I went to the largest of the three islands, Inishmor). On the Aran Islands, everything is in Gaelic and everyone speaks Gaelic and English. For example, I stopped at a store to get something to drink (I got a Gatorade which for some reason is available on an island off the coast of Ireland but not available in Derry...yeah...sorry to get off track). It was very different but beautiful. The island was like visiting Ireland in a much less modern time (remnants of ancient forts are still around and there is a colony of seals). On the way back to the city, a man from the islands and his friend sang songs in Gaelic. When we got to their stop, it took about ten minutes for him to say goodbye ("mar sin leat") to everyone in Gaelic (the bus driver was not too happy) Furthermore, it was just fun taking a ferry to the island (in the past week I have been on a plane, a train, a bus, and now a ferry). The night life was kind of weird on my first night. Many of the young girls were in costumes, so I thought it was Halloween or something (I saw Buzz Lightyear). At the Hostel, it was as close as you can get to a hotel. However, the man above me (I have no idea what language he was speaking) had an uncanny snore (I must have been really tired to sleep through that ). Anyway, I might go back for a day trip and see the Cliffs of Moher when it is warmer (it is just starting to get a little warmer here). So, I hope you enjoy the pictures. Thanks

Matt


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Lynch's CastleLynch's Castle
Lynch's Castle

Built in 1490, this Irish medieval town house was home to James Lynch Fitzstephen, a 16th century Mayor of Galway. He condemned his son to death for the murder. He acted as the executioner and spent the rest of his life in seclusion. It is now a branch of the Allied Irish Bank (AIB).
55
5

You can see my shadow


Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb