Grand Tour of Ireland 2012 Day 13: Connemara, Galway, and Nuneries


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 4th 2012
Published: March 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This is to be our last sightseeing trip of our vacation. Its almost sad to see it all end but as usual, i miss my bed, bathroom, shower, and cats. God I miss my cats!

Our first stop was at the Quiet Man bridge. John Wayne filmed a movie here and the tourist business booms on that idea. BUt all of the people who have seen that movie are dying off. What will happen to this place then I wonder?

We stopped by several lakes with scenic mountains in the background. Seeing the mountains so green makes me want to climb them. We also got an up close look at peat. The blocks of peat are interesting to investigate. I like how they smell and wondered how they would taste. I took a small chunk of peat and put it in my pocket for safekeeping later on. I will keep it with me forever!

Afterwards we stopped at Kylemore Abbey, the famous abbey at the foot of the green mountains in the Connemara region. I wish we had time to go and explore the nunnery but we were pressed for time by the tour guide. We instead shopped a little with Colby going crazy with his buying of the Connemara marble. He at least bought me a Connemara marble kitty. he's sweet when he wants to be 😊

Our trip ended at the mighty Fjords of Ireland at Killary Harbour. I've never taken a cold cruise before and standing out at the front of the boat nearly froze my face off. The water was dark and filled with ghostly jelly fish and every now and then a fish would dart by. The mountains one either side had sheep roaming up its hillsides. I imagined what the vikings of old thought as they rowed their longboats through here on cold cloudy days. This was Colby's favorite part of the trip. He stood outside when it started sleeting. I was way too cold to join him.

I will forever take with me these memories. I want to stay here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb