Dublin/Galway Day1 & 2


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
September 11th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok everyone, us twins have decided to do this blog thing. We're both going to write stuff but we will probably switch off every couple of days.

As you all know, we arrived in Dublin yesterday morning around 8am. Our hostel was a little hole-in-the-wall place down a dark, narrow alley, and we shared a room with around 8 other people. It was pretty decent, the sheets were clean, the other guests were quiet and respectful (especially coming in after partying late), and the staff was helpful and friendly. We were able to walk around a little bit and see a couple streets around the hostel. We are going to explore more when we go back in a week, but yesterday we were way too tired to do much. Unfortunately, neither one of us slept at all on the plane. I wasn't even able to close my eyes. I'm not sure why. The plane ride was very smooth. I guess I just can't sleep on planes. So the way we tried to stay awake: shopping. Haha, we just walked around and checked out stores. Skinny jeans are still in, flats as well. Tennis shoes, like we are wearing, are waayyy out so we kind of get funny looks every now and then. After that it was my silly idea to take the bus to Dun Lougahaire (pronounced Dun Leary, whattt??). Really bad idea because riding on the bus just put us to sleep so after 45mins of riding, we gave up and headed back to the hostel. After that we had a lazy day.

Today we got up really early to go to Galway. It was a nice trip from the east side of Ireland to the west coast and, while the countryside was pretty, I wasn't awed into silence haha. I guess movie-makers know the best places to get a picture, but I thought it looked like the US. I guess the major difference is the little hedgerows or stone fences, and tiny quaint houses. Oh, and it is green everywhere. It does rain a lot. Every day there are rain showers every other hour that don't last long but will get you wet if you aren't prepared.

Allie and I are the tallest people around! Well, that's sort of an exaggeration but it feels like it. Everyone is so short, including the men. Most of the signs around here are in English AND Gaelic. It's really cool but it is not a pretty language, in my opinion. If you think German is ugly, listen to Gaelic. Allie says it's like nothing she's ever heard before and I have to agree.

Well, that's about it. We'll be in Galway until the 14th and then it's on to Killarney! Much love to everyone.
-S

Advertisement



11th September 2010

Blog
I think your blog idea is great and I've enjoyed your comments. Yes, that's one of the things that struck me when I first went to England - the countryside was so green! Have you seen any "painted" sheep? That's how the farmers can tell their flock from the others - they put a dab of paint on their backs.

Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb