No Academics Yet


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
January 10th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I said I'd talk about school in this entry, but i haven't actually had a class yet, so there's really nothing to say! Two of my classes don't start for two weeks, I tried to go to one yesterday but it was just an info session that i'd already been to, so i left, and I think i have at least one class tomorrow, so we'll see about that. None of the classes meet for more than two hours a week. Thats right. two hours. But moving on to more exciting things...

We decided with our Beloit girls downstairs that we're going to the Aran Islands this weekend-they're supposed to be really fabulous. And i think our roommate Ruairigh will come too, so that will make it him, me, Alex, Erin, Sally, and Lee. They are all very nice girls, thank goodness. Oh and i guess Brittany O'Malley is here too, but she hasn't bothered to talk to any of the rest of us. ehh.

In other news, I spent Saturday almost entirely on my feet, first with a walking tour of Galway City led by this funny old man with an amazing hat made of something like patched-together tweed in different colors-don't worry, he told us where to get them and you know i'm going to. After the tour, we stayed in town and ate at a little pizzaria place, which was lovely except that they kept the door open and it was a tiny place, so my feet never got a chance to warm up. It was sunny that day (miracle) but like 38 degrees and windy. Don't get me wrong, i'm not complaining, but we ended up not getting back to the room until 6 pm, so we had spent 6 hours out there. That night was my first trip to the pubs, also, with Alex and Lee. I Should have changed my shoes between afternoon and evening, but I got this pair of furry boots for 10 euro and they're amazing, so I suffered through a couple of blisters. We couldn't find the Hole in the Wall, which we'd heard was fun and cheap, so we asked a guy, and he was actually on his way there, so we ended up spending the rest of the night with him and his two friends! His name was Darre and the other two were Ivan and Amie, and they were incredibly nice and we sat in this outside courtyard on a bench the whole time we were there, freezing, because it was way too loud to talk inside, and also very crowded. And there way too many Americans. Darre goes to NUI, Amie goes to another school, and Ivan's an electrician (random) and they all live in Galway. Throughout the night they taught us a few Irish phrases and laughed when we tried to pronounce them, but I'm working hard on the accent and I know i'll get it before long. After the pub, we went to this club with them at the Radisson Hotel. Now I've been to a couple of clubs before, but I guess this is what a REAL club is like, especially a European one, because it had EVERYTHING--Multicolored, lit-up floors, strobe lights, go-go dancers, trendy couches, and it was HUGE! two levels! Unbelievable. They couldn't figure out our American id's, but of course they let us in anyway. Got home pretty late that night, to say the least.

So our other two roommates moved in. They're um....nice. They're both boys, one's from Dublin (Ronald) and the other's from near Galway (Rob). They lived here last semester, too, and I guess there were two American boys in our room. I don't think these two know the first thing about girls, let alone LIVING with girls. We already found out that they don't have any sisters. Rob likes to talk a lot, but it's really hard to tell what he's saying sometimes. They're both hard core science majors. Um, basically, if they were at Beloit I think they'd be BSFFAs (Beloit Science Fiction and Fantasy Association members) no question. And I've judged them prematurely and I'm an asshole but I don't care. I didn't ask to live with wierd boys! Lia, Jackie, you know how i feel about boys and bathrooms!! Hence, I'm a little worried about how this living arrangement will all pan out, but I'm sucking it up okay. At least they're nice, right.

Advertisement



11th January 2006

icky boys
Oh Holly! I can't believe that they stuck you with gross boys... just think, nothing can be as bad as Birken SMOKING in the shower and while he pees then ashes on the seat. nothing can be that bad, right? Anyway, live it up and i absolutly LOVE all the stories. You are such a good story teller! keep it up. Talk to you soon! xoxo
11th January 2006

Brittany O'Malley
Of course Brittany isn't going to associate with you girls...she's better than you guys. Dont give her the satisfaction Hol-- you're TOO GOOD for her. ANYWAY-- it sounds like you're doing just fine. You'll get used to living with the weird guys...make them have their own bathroom. I love you Ms. Wilborn and you are being missed severely.
18th January 2006

Kick the boys
Hey H--So basically it sounds like your role is to teach these two blockheads how to live with girls... or at least be tolerable. Ah, if only I were there to lecture them about bathroom hygiene... the nostalgia of college days. Love you!
21st January 2006

So. Nasty Boys, Eh.
Well, just send them over here and I'll chew on them a bit. I will never forget the BSFFA meeting going on while you were moving stuff out of the dorm at Christmas. It was interesting. They were very serious, too. You are very mature to 'suck it up' and deal with all this maleness. I hope it is wonderful in all other ways. Love and kisses. You are a great writer. Wags and wet snozzles, too.

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb