I'll miss you Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
August 7th 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fire spinningFire spinningFire spinning

Downtown Grafton St.
Well it's bag packing time.. Tonight I'm heading to the airport to sleep there since there are no buses that will get me to the airport in time. This is so typical all over ther world..

Since I wrote last I've seen alot more of Dublin. Saturday night I went downtown to met up with the fire spinners that live around this city. I was hoping to jump in for a spin but alas the Police here are starting to really crack down on the local buskers. But I did have a good time watching them and chatting with the locals.

It's absolutly unreal how many people are downtown on the weekends here. I thought week nights were busy but boy was I wrong. REALLY wrong, in certain parts the line-ups are going out onto the streets and the booze is flowing everywhere as well.. even one of the local statue angels the next morning had a can of beer in her hands the next morning.

Sunday morning I got up only to find once again the weather has turned. Back home it was a joke if you don't like the weather wait 10 mins here... it's like
Eating metalEating metalEating metal

This is just nuts. It goes all the way to the pit of his stomach
5. One minute I'm freezing my ass off the next it's raining but it's still too humid to put my sweater on.. so I'm walking around with an umbrella in a tank top still sweating .. than the wind kicks in.. and the sun comes out and I NEED to put the sweater on.. and so on and so forth.. you get the picture.

Anywho I went back down to the festival while Laurene took the morning off to enjoy the quiet of her home without me. Happily walked down to Merrion Park again to watch the end of the street performance festival. A few months ago I saw this guy on internet who plays this modified piano with juggling balls.. like.. a juggling piano.. super cool... yeah I got to see it in person. Freaking cool. But not as cool as the sword swallower. There's only 42 ( well this is what I've been told ) in the world. This guy practiced for 2 years throwing up to learn how to controll his gag reflex. And I'm also pretty sure he moved one of his organs outta the way .. it was gross but interesting all at the
Fire spinningFire spinningFire spinning

Downtown Grafton St.
same time.

Last night we went out for dinner with some other friends of Laurenes from Montreal. My first resturant expierence here on the other side of the planet. We went to a place called the elephant and castle. Twas pretty cool. Best bruger I've had in ages AND coffee.

I've been on this statue kick and sculpted faces on buildings which I got my fill of today. We went and visited Christ Church Catherdral and of course what trip in Ireland is complete without St.Patricks Church? On this site it is where St.Pat himself baptized many of the locals. They have the stone which covered the well at some point. The thich itself is enourmous in size and is unreal. Flags still hang on the ceilings that date back to the later 1700s.

As we left the church the sun was shining through once more so we zipped into the mall and grabbed some toasties (sandwiches) and walked across the street to Dublins largest park St.Stephens Green. Just amazing, quite large and took a gander through the park. I have to say they take care of their parks here, rest of the city is damn dirty
Me and LaureneMe and LaureneMe and Laurene

Awww I'm gonna miss her.
but hey the park is nice. Also on the walk home we went by where the book of Kells lives. This is an ancient book written before the bible. Very old. You have to pay to get in and they only diplay one page at a time and change it once a month or something.

It's been lovely here, but I can't wait to get home to comfort food, Newcastle beer and a comfy bed... as much as I LOVE the couch.

Homeward bound.. I will be back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

the thinking bunnythe thinking bunny
the thinking bunny

There are all these weird bunny statues through O'Connol street.
Trinity College the centerTrinity College the center
Trinity College the center

Just to the right ot this is where the book of Kells is, a book that predates the bible.


7th August 2006

creature comforts
omg, i didnt know youd be sleeping in the flippin airport!! aaaw that sucks... rest assured.. you get breakfast in that comfy bed which will have fresh clean sheets, hypo allergenic pillows, a lemon drink at the side and if anyone starts making noise in the street, they get the pleasure of my company for a few moments. glad you enjoyed the emerald isle sarah :o)

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb