Ireland!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
September 19th 2007
Published: September 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

I'm finally settled into life at University College Dublin, so I was able to take a few minutes to upload some pictures for you! Mom flew back last week and I miss everyone already but it seems like time is going by so fast because I've been busy day and night. I have met so many great people from around the world- Germany, France, USA, Belgium, Austria, Botswana, Spain, the Netherlands, England... to name a few. My housemates are wonderful girls so I am excited to be living here!

While my mom was here, we went all over Dublin, and travelled to the Cliffs of Moher on the west coast, and North to Malahide, and to Galway and Wicklow, which were all breathtaking. After my mom left I went with a group of friends to Cork, where the Blarney Stone is, and kissed it, which means I now have the gift of eloquence! The stone is on the edge of the Blarney Castle, so you have to lay down while a guy holds you so you don't fall!

The people in Ireland are very friendly, as people know. Meeting strangers on the street is common. Just the other day my friends and I were waiting for a bus at 6am and a friendly bloke came up to us to have a chat- he was presently drinking coffee in an attempt to sober up for work. Downtown everyday is entertainment all along the car-free streets. My favourite thing to watch is the harp being played. I want to learn to play now.

I have more courses here than at home, and most of them are taught differently. Instead of having a single text book to memorize and be tested on, there is a long list of suggested references, giving us the freedom to learn and think for ourselves outside the lecture. Many courses do not have exams either- this way of teaching is exactly what I've been talking about for years!

I could go on, but I think I've written enough for now. I will write again soon so I don't have so much to say at one time! I plan to go to Northern Ireland soon and try some surfing, I'll let you know how that goes! Talk to you soon,

Love,
Alaina.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BreweryBrewery
Brewery

The Beamish Brewery in Cork
St. Fin Barre's CathedralSt. Fin Barre's Cathedral
St. Fin Barre's Cathedral

In Cork with friends
The Watch TowerThe Watch Tower
The Watch Tower

Blarney Castle
Monk FortressMonk Fortress
Monk Fortress

6th century monastic settlement in Wicklow
Grafton StreetGrafton Street
Grafton Street

City Centre


20th September 2007

R
Hi Alaina , I was just thinking about how I could make you laugh when you were little , sometimes you were annoying babysitting but I d go back in a heartbeat. Happy that you are there and experiencing all that you are! Love you Mike

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb