Safe in Dublin!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just arrived in Dublin this morning!! The sun is out and the city is absolutely beautiful!! We are at our friend's friend's place... a lovely home about 20 minutes away from the center of the city. They are very nice people and it's fun to hear a different accent! The journey here was quite crazy... we left London around 7:45 last night. My friend Stephanie and I had quite an amusing first train ride, practicing our accents and talking about the way people interact at work. We were talking about how they always ask "Are you alright?" and the translation for that is actually "how are you?" We're always like, ummm "yeah, fine, do I look okay?" ha. After that one we transferred to one other train. I loved the train because once we got out of the city the countryside was just incredible. On the second train we met a man who's pretty much seen every place in Europe and was telling us about his travels. He is actually from Canada, so it was really interesting talking with him. After our 2nd train we had an hour layover to get on the ferry... our ferry left Wales at 2:30 this morning. I know. Tiring and cold. The ferry was pretty nice, had lots of couches and very clean... we all just passed out on the couches. We got in at about 6 this morning... it was a very cold night... I had a tshirt, sweatshirt, and my light jacket on and I was freezing. I hope that I packed enough warm clothes for the weekend... I might have to buy another sweatshirt as a souvenir!! Once we got into Dublin we stopped to get some coffee; I needed something to wake me up!! We walked around for a bit and then took the bus over to this home. I think we are going back into the city for the rest of the day... seeing some churches/cathedrals, the Dublin Castle, taking a bus tour, and then to the Guiness Brewery and having some dinner at a pub nearby. We're going to probably have an early night tonight as we are all going to be tired by the end of the day from the late night last night, but we'll get up early tomorrow and our friend (Charley) is going to take us outside the city to Wicklow where hopefully we'll do a little hiking and see the lush and green country that I've always pictured Ireland to be!! Then tomorrow night Charley and Sadie (his wife) are going to take us out to dinner. Very excited for this weekend!!!
And for those of you who have been keeping up with the news, there was a suspected bomb nearby where I live in London, but we are all safe and we were lucky with the timing since we left last night and it happened at 2 this morning, so no worries.
Have a great weekend everyone and I will try to continue posting since I do have internet access. Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb