Glendalough


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 6th 2011
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 53.3441, -6.26749

So yesterday I discovered I am SICK! How typical, lol. Two days of no sleep will do that for ya. So last night I wasn't feeling too well after sightseeing all day, so I just went to bed instead of updating the blog.

Anyway, yesterday we went on our free tour of Glendalough and Kilkenny. It was much more awesome this time then it was two years ago when it was storming and hailing. Chris and I hiked halfway up the Upper Lake- we were able to see St. Kevin's cave across the water. Then we hiked back down past the Lower Lake to the Hotel and graveyard, round tower and abbey. Took lots of awesome pictures. It's just such a beautiful area!

After that we drove through the Wicklow Gap, which was completely obscured by clouds (so we couldn't see anything). Kilkenny was nice. We were both starving by the time we got there, so we had some good irish food at a pub called the Marble Bar. Chris had Guinness Beef Stew with mashed potatoes and I had roast beef with mashed potatoes, yorkshire pudding and veggies. Yorkshire pudding wasn't what I thought it would be... it's not what we would call a pudding. It's more like a roll... that's extra spongy, so it was probably made out of pudding. It tasted sort of like stuffing... like what we put in the turkey at Thanksgiving. After that we walked around Kilkenny looking at the Cathedral and Kilkenny Castle.

(I'm keeping this short- I think there's a line for the internet here in the hostel. I'll upload pictures later. =) ).


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Typical Hostel BreakfastTypical Hostel Breakfast
Typical Hostel Breakfast

Toast, "juice" (yeah.. not really sure what it is... it's similar to gatorade but tastes artificial and like it was powdered) and instant coffee (oddly, that's the tastiest part of the meal!).
GlendaloughGlendalough
Glendalough

Upper Lake
GlendaloughGlendalough
Glendalough

Upper Lake
GlendaloughGlendalough
Glendalough

So green!
GlendaloughGlendalough
Glendalough

Lower Lake
GlendaloughGlendalough
Glendalough

Paddwagon! And it's so inconspicuous...
GlendaloughGlendalough
Glendalough

Entrance to graveyard


8th March 2011

I found some great info on Ancestry.com today and you really need to read it before you continue your trip around Ireland. I put it in a Word Document but I wasn's sure how to attach it for you so if you can go to facebook I will put it in
a message for you.
8th March 2011

I saw it! I'll read it as soon as I get a decent amount of time to use the internet! lol. The hostel in Derry has one very old very slow computer. No internet cafes. =)
8th March 2011

I like how you look all sexy cute and chris is wearing a kitty nom shirt. Lol
8th March 2011

This is so beautiful and peaceful. I could see myself just sitting there quietly until I get too cold to stay any longer.
8th March 2011

"repunzel repunzel let down your hair"That's what this reminds me of.

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb