Oktoberfest and Thanksgiving


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
October 13th 2009
Published: November 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sausagefest and Turkey Day



When I returned from Canada my roommate Karel informed me that he had finally decided that it is time for him to return home to Prague. He decided that he would leave towards the end of November and began looking for a new roommate for me. Within a couple of days of putting the add on the internet we found our new flatmate. While Milan was at work a spanish girl named Usune came into get a coffee with her parents. While there she asked Milan if he knew of any flates for rent as she had just arrived in Dublin that day and was going to be staying for 5 months. He said that we have a room and she could come by later that day to see it. She came with her parents and we all go on well so we decided that she could move in so that there was 5 of us living in the flat again until Karel would leave in the end of November. Usune (Usu) is from St. Sebastian and really fits in well with all of us.

The real Oktoberfest took place in the middle of September (I know September is not October but I did not set the date of the event) in Munich. Following the real Oktoberfest the many Germans descended upon wee little dublin. They set up shop in the docklands infront of my home for 10 days of beer, sausage, and music. It was really amazing to see all of the tents setup and the beer tents were full practically every night of the week. I went over to Oktoberfest 3 times while it was in Dublin and it was a lot of fun. There was a live band playing all day and a great atmosphere and feeling of excitement everywhere. I had some delicious potatoe pancakes and sauerkraut.

While Oktoberfest was taking place Turkeys were warming in the ovens back home in Canada. I decided that I had to attempt a mini thanksgiving, t'anksgiving as the Irish would say it, for my flatmates to experience as they have only ever seen it in American movies. I decided to roast a chicken because there were only 4 of us home for dinner. I cooked some delicious butternut squash, some potatoes and carrots, cranberry sauce, and home made pumpkin pie. I even made the pumpkin filling myself as there is no canned pumpkin mush available in Dublin. I must say that everything turned out perfectly. Karel, Usu, Monika, and I gathered around the dinner table gave our thanks for the year and then filled our faces. On the actual thanksgiving I had to work and it was a struggle to not wish everyone a "happy thanksgiving" although I did a few times and only received incredibly confused look.

October finished off with a fabulous Halloween party. The evening before Halloween I brought some pumpkins home and taught everyone how to carve a pumpkin. It is funny trying to teach other people how to do something that I've done my whole life. Especially when it is something as silly as turning a gourd into a scary faced lantern. It seems really silly doesn't it. Imagine you had no idea what a jack-o-lantern is and someone comes home with a big orange thing and tells you to cut a face into it?!?!? WEIRD? I'd say so! The following night Monika, Karel, Usu and I got dressed up and went to a party at a hotel. I was a pirate, monika a sailor, usu a gangster, and karel the Scream killer. We first went to temple bar to check out all the people dressed up and there were some really good costumes. At the party everyone was dressed up and there was even a Canadian Mountie costume and a Toronto Firefighter, which both made me laugh and yell "Canada in the house". We had a lot of fun, arrived home very late, and all fell asleep quickly.

October was a pretty good month.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Toronto FireToronto Fire
Toronto Fire

"Canada in the house"
We like PumpkinsWe like Pumpkins
We like Pumpkins

"You want me to put my hand INSIDE of the pumpkin"


21st November 2009

Halloween....
Your pics are great... you all looked wonderful. And dinner looks yummy.
24th November 2009

Ms.Katie Stewart...you
hey...what about the pumpkin seed roasting?..or did you do that too...Ms. Katie Stewart!!! Just joshin'....I did it this year...what a pain in the a--! Was it easy to find the pumpkins, there?...were they expensive? I'll send you pics of our pumpkins we carved this year....Charlie named his Stan and Sasha named hers Problem Child!...she actully got that from a pumpkin carving book I bought awhile ago.....she is totally obsessed with it and it's got some pretty scary ones in it! Anyway, continue to enjoy and it was nice reading from you! Take Care..can't wait to hear what kind of Christmas your going to have!!!...should be exciting! So, are you going to learn a bit of Spanish now? Hopefully you have that on your travel plan....my favourite European country!!!

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb