Oh... THERE'S the pub! 1/9/09


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 7th 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

September 1
We had a slow start today and at 9am went on our Dublin tour with Kate. She cracked us up by laughing huskily at all her own jokes. We visited Dublin castle and then were free. We headed straight for the Temple Bar, passing Molly Malone on the way. The Temple bar was fantastic. Great atmosphere. Would have loved to have heard the music. The bartender was lots of fun, poking fun at us. We shared a great BLT for lunch. I bought a fantastic tshirt there. We headed off in different directions then. I started on the ‘local’ side of the river which was very different to the touristy side. I bought Maddy a toe ring at a little celtic jeweller. Very hard to get as it’s too cold to bar toes.  I bought myself a few pieces of jewellery too. Everything was very expensive in Dublin.. so I thought I’d wait til Killarney to get other things. I walked back to the hotel after about 4 hours and bought a bottle of drink. I went down to the bar and had an Irish coffee with Gil. It was lots of fun talking to the Polish bartender.. Sebastian. There were also some guys that had just graduated from Uni and were off to Portugal. It was a fun afternoon.
We headed off at 6:15pm to the Irish Cabaret night. It was loads of fun. I had a delicious vegetable.. yes.. soup that tasted homemade. I had chicken wrapped in bacon with mushroom sauce and the dessert was an apple charlotte. The singers were good, the River dancers awesome and the comedian very funny. After a few bottles of wine, I was river dancing my way home.. far too tired to go back to the Temple bar as planned.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb