Dublin day 1


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 28th 2009
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it was quite the loud night. I did sleep but it was diffenetly in periods of sleeping. I was also hoping that Marcus wasn't choked at me. Woke up around 1030 ha. Kinda late for my first day to be exploring Dublin. Sat around the house for quite awhile on the computer. Did some laundry and cleaned up their place for them. Tonsa dishes so I felt good about that, like I was earning my cred back. Luigi came back just after I finished my shower and was ready to hit the town. He brought home chicken and eggs and asked me if I wanted to join him for some lunch. Of course Im never one to dissapoint anyone, or at least thats what I try to do. Postponed my exploring a little while longer and stayed for lunch. Lunch was simple and great. Gotta love being full especially for free too. Luigi had the day off so he was gonna hang out with me abit and then go to check out this house at 4. Worked out wicked actually. Him and I went around talking to ppl about finding the best deal on a cell that I could use to travel with. Got all differents answers from ppl. Best deal was a free phone that was pay as you go and you paid 50 Euro and got that in air time. Not bad but then I would have to keep buying sim cards, in every damn country!! So not really into that. Then I kinda switched my attention to phones with Wifi if I wasn't gonna get a touch. Expensive ass tho cheapest was 200 Euro for the phone on pay and talk. Cool thing was that I could use Skype and it had GPS built in as well. So I was on the fence. Ireland actually has way less Wifi then all of Europe so I never went for it. Thankfully actually, I will get something someday.
After we went to the Park at the top of the shopping block called St Stephen's Green. Beautiful day so nice out. I really have to buy a lottery ticket. They said this was the best weather they have had in years. Especially one day after the other. Went around there and then left Luigi to go real estate shopping while I checked out Dublins main attraction Trinity College. I wasn't really into paying to see this book that is actually one of the oldest known books in the world called the book of Kells. Not really too interested in that so I wondered around the college. I checked out the pub they had by the rugby pitch which was really cool to see. Everyone was sitting around drinking cans of beers. Ha really cool. Walked around and went back to the entrance to sit down for a minute and decide what I was gonna do next. Met this older fellow who came by and sat beside me. Introduced himself and started to have his smoke. Not five mins later the Garda came up to us (the police in Gaelic) and booted us off the steps. "No sitting on the steps, read the sign"! Well this just set off the older fellow he was choked. "We've been sitting on these steps for hundreds of years" he says well sorry your gonna have to leave now. So funny he gets litterally thrown out the gates and starts yelling WANKERS haha. I was laughing my ass off. They thought I was with him or whatever so I had to convince them otherwise.
Then I went for a quick bite at BK for a burger. Havent had too many of those on this trip so far. After that I went to check out the Huge ass bank of Ireland which was right across the st from Trinity. After that I went to the Dublin Castle. Kinda cool not really that cool though. Then I wondered over to find the Jamesons distillery before it closed at 530. Got there and they wouldnt buy that I was a student so I wasnt really into paying 15 Euros. Wondered around the shops and bar there which was kinda cool.
After that went to the grocery store and waited to meet up with the two roomies. I had a bit of trouble getting a hold of Marcus. He said he was going out with friends for a burger so I should meet him at the flat. He somehow thought that I had the keys. After about 4 phone calls we finally decided to meet at stephens green because we thought we were both locked out and had to wait for Luigi. Turns out they were in his pocket!!!! What a nummy haha. Tells me this wasnt the first time this happend. I kinda believed him. Got back and Luigi and Marta his gf invited us for dinner at her place. Very nice. We walked over there and found her place from the smell wafting from the window up three floors. SOOOOOO GOOD it was like meatballs with some other meat inside and the best gravy. Marta is Spanish so she was a real sweety and her sister was there as well but never said anything cause she couldnt speak English.
After that I met up with another couch surfer from Argentian named Raphaela. We met up at temple bar square and it was kinda tough to distinguish who she was from one picture but somehow I picked her from the crowd. We went for a drink up the road and she doesnt drink so we had orange juice. Hillarious the bartender didnt even think I was nuts even. After awhile we went to another bar. Turns out she plays the sax. Really cool girl. Around one we said goodnight and I went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb