Belfast to Dublin TOOTS AND THE MAYTALs


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 27th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well today Tobias didnt have to work for some reason so took it easy a bit taken from the night before. We went to that same place for breaky but this time I wanted something a bit lighter so I got a Panini. Not bad a tad bit dry but the tea helped. After that we set off for a tour of the Botanical Gardens. So nice there smelt amazing. Went inside the big glass hut they had there and saw some wicked plants. Maybe goofed around a little thats what happens when Tobias and I go out. We both donated money to fix the roof because it was fully messed. Needed a brand new structure even so it was well worth the 1 euro donation for 3 postcards. U might be the lucky winner of a postcard all you dedicated readers haha.
After that we went towards the university and we came across a tree that was literally bombing pinecones. I walked through it with my hands on my head and nearly got creamed. It was hillarious so dangerous, we laughed and watched ppl get nailed as they walked through. HAHA evil ppl
After that Tobias had to go home
Sir KelvinSir KelvinSir Kelvin

he invented temp whoooooopeee
to let the carpenter in to fix his handles again and I went down to the Bus station to get my ticket and find the library to do some much needed emailing.
After that I was running a little behind schedule to make the 3 oclock to Dublin. Ended up taking it easy and catching the 4 which ended up working out much better. Had a last pint this time of Wagners cider at the Crown and said goodbyes to Tobias and Gersha. Saying goodbye sucks but i'm getting better at it.
Got a quick bite before we took off for Dublin.
Not a whole lot to see on the way so I got some sleep in. Got into town around 730 cause of traffic and made my way to find a pay phone to get ahold of Drews good friend Marcus. Walked past the Big Spike in the air and managed to get directions to his place near Temple Bar, which from what I was told was the Tourist Mecca of Dublin. I ended up seeing a guys brother I knew back from Braefoot elementary called Craig Walker (Tom Walkers bro), who I played street hockey against when I
inside Ulster hallinside Ulster hallinside Ulster hall

had to run to get this but it was worth it never made the bus anyway
was 12. Crazyness he was on his way to the gym and let me use his phone to call Marcus again to tell him I made it there. He said he just lost his job and was probably moving from here after living here for 3 years. Anyways Marcus met me and we went back to his place which was amazingly right smack dab down in the middle of Temple Bar. How convenient hahaha. Such a nice guy as well. He ended up lending me money because we were in a rush and I forgot to transfer money from one account to the other. I also met his roomy Luigi, those two were off to watch the Eufa Cup final at the pub, and I was off to Tripod to see the TOOTS.
So excited for this. Took a cab to the show and he asked me why I didnt take the cab in front with his thick Irish accent. I told him i dont know i just went to the closest one. He was wondering because supposedly he was black ha. I told him ummm im going to a show to watch black ppl perform live. I am part black myself so nonononono. He thought that was funny. He told me a story of driving through northern ireland to visit his gf and having the police beat the crap out of him cause he was catholic. I think there might of been a bit more to the story he left out.
When I got there they had my ticket waiting for me so I went in and hoped they were showing the match. They weren't =( oh well I met some Irish blokes who got updates on it. They were from down south near Cork and bought me a couple drinks. Gotta love that just cause im foreign. Now i know how it feels Cheimak haha. Anyways they were big time reggae lovers and we sat there talking for a good while as the openers came on. Tripod is a wicked venue. Totally lax crowd no weed smoke tho.
Toots came on and went straight into the hits Funky Kingston was the first song I was in heaven. He was totally decked out in black leather what a character. He came up to me cause I was right in the front and reached out to give me dabs fist to fist. So cool I was really in heaven.
Concert lasted almost 2 hrs and I was super happy. I met a young lady called Molly and her and her mom took me out to the pub for a couple drinks after the show. Real sweethearts the both of em. They said they loved my "accent" ha I dont know about that. She even taught me some irish. Something like Stoory Buts means hey there girls!!! Kinda funny but I was starting to get a bit tired and I was supposed to call Marcus like an hour ago so I had to find a phone soon. I managed to use theres and got ahold of Marcus who didnt sound too impressed on the phone. I think he was waiting up for me so I got home as soon as I could.
Made it near where I could remember where it was and had to phone him again. I felt terrible for this here he is putting his neck out for me and im screwing it up already. Shit. Anyways I had to make it up to him. Found out when I got home that I was actually sleeping right beside him ha. Kinda funny. It was a great night tho. NIGHT


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

InsideInside
Inside

quite lovely i never took a pic of the private rooms right behind me tho
Johnny and ConnorJohnny and Connor
Johnny and Connor

from Clonmel in the south


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb