A day in Dublin's Fair City!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 28


This Thursday turned out to be the only day during the week that remained foggy for all but three hours of the day. I believe that it was because I had decided to go exploring this day. I caught the train into the city and bought a daily ticket for the Dublin hop-on, hop-off bus. This bus tour takes you around to all of the tourist sites in Dublin, running every 10 minutes. I visited the National Museum which had displays on historic Ireland including details on the Vikings. The next stop was Steven's Green where I had a brief stroll through the lovely green park with working fountains! It’s been so long since I’ve seen on working. My next port of call was the Tourism centre were I picked up a bunch of brochures on a range of tours and activities that I can do while I’m here in Ireland. Next was St Patrick’s Cathedral, the inside is gorgeous and the stain glass windows are fantastically crafted. Next on the list was the Guinness brewery where I learnt how to brew the perfect pint! The water they use actually comes straight from Wexford rather than the Liffey River. At the very top of the brewery is a bar where you have a 360 degree view of the city and you can marvel at the view while enjoying a pint of Guinness. I actually almost managed to drink the whole pint however I had to leave so that I would be back in time for dinner. Along I saw Dublin Castel, Temple bar, which I must visit and Dawson‘s bar which is the smallest bar in the city. On the way back the bus drove through Phoenix Park, past the Ha’Penny Bridge and various statues.
I made it home in time for us to head out for dinner in the local Chinese restaurant. It was scrumptious.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb