Dublin!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After many hours in airport land and many hours making new friends on airplanes I am now making new friends in Dublin! The friend I made on the plane is definately worth mentioning. We started talking right away, getting each other's stories, he is moving to the UK to be an engineer and I am...figuring things out. By the end of the flight we were exchanging contact info, giving hugs and making plans to meet again soon. Good omen.

I got to Dublin at 5 AM and wondered what time it would get light out. That doesn't happen here until 8:30 AM! I haven't slept yet and I am beginning to feel the effects. I left the airport and knew I had to ride some buses to get to my first couchsurfing destination. The bus drivers were all very helpful explaining to me exactly where to go and what to look for. Even after thourough explination I still got semi lost and wondered around looking for the couchsurfing house in the chilly dark morning. When I finally found the house I rang the bell and waited. No answer. I rang again. No answer. I starting thinking about how it was so early and nothing was open, where would I go what would I do. I tried the door once more and a sleepy Frenchman answered, welcomed me in and told me he was late for work. The other room mate, and Irishman fixed me a cup of tea and we all got to talking about what I was doing here in Ireland. Then the 3rd roommate came down, an American girl. She and I talked non stop for 4 hours straight (the others went to work), drinking tea, laughing, yelling, being outrageuos, being fierce, being girls and it was fun!

I just checked my email and I got a host family that wants me to come help in exchange for free room and board!

And, this week, a dance studio here is holding free classes! Free yoga classes, free flamenco, free salsa, free Irish dance...you name it, the class is free!

So I think tonight I'll go to a free dance class with my new friends and celebrate after with a pint...or 2.

I'll resume running tomorrow. 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb