Farewell dear friends...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Syracuse
January 11th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

laughterlaughterlaughter

good friends
I'm leaving tomorrow morning! The trip has drastically changed within the course of the last week. The most noted change being that I am now a solo traveler. Also, instead of heading to Barcelona right away I'll be spending a month trying my luck with the Irish, then I'll fly to Barcelona and hopefully have a bit of an idea what to do next.

I've tried to handle the situation with grace and patients, something that is hard to practice when you still feel kind of angry and when you feel like you need to hurry. There are still a lot of unknowns flying around and I have to just let them fly.

Changing an entire trip at the very last minute isn't something that I recommend, but on the same token, not necessarily impossible thanks to the internet and some really fantastic web communities like couchsurfing.com If you don't know what it is check it out, I think many of the members have just saved my life. I'm going to try and do some work exchanges while I am traveling: exchanging work for room/board. I've got some good leads, but nothing confirmed. I guess that's another lesson I keep learning over and over. It's always more comforting to have some good leads, but remember that nothing is ever confirmed, even when it is.

I'm going to go ahead and say it now, and hopefully throughout my travels, come back to this point many times: people are inherently good. I think people have bad days, we are all allowed that, and I do think some people are mean, but overall I am usually pleasantly surprised by people's good nature and willingness to help. I'm embarking on this journey with that sentiment ringing between my ears, with the idea that plans are usually more fluid than concrete and that somehow things always seem to work out, maybe not the expected way or with the expected outcome, but none the less, they work.

So now I list my farewells, knowing that I'll be back before anyone realizes that I'm gone. Of course, my friends and family who are always feeding me delicious food, and although I'll miss you, I probably need a break from that. They are the people that had to listen to my indecisiveness about this trip and helped to guide me to my final decisions, thanks. My lap top, who I was going to bring with me, but who didn't make the last cut. I used to hate my lap top, until I finally took some time (it takes time) to understand it better; it's beeps and blank screens, it's gurgling CD drive, the way the caps lock key sticks and can make any email appear more excited or angry than I ever intended. I said good bye yesterday to the treadmill I run on at the gym, and although I also used to hate it, I've grown to have some satisfactory personal gains with it's help. (Running outside is does grant much more pleasant views.) I bid farewell to my life of plenty. Though I have only been back in the states for a few months, I have gotten used to easy access. It isn't like I am going to a country that isn't plentiful, it's just that my access to plenty of things will be drastically lessened due to a lack of funds and know how. And finally, I'd like to thank my management team, my producers, the directors and of course the fans, without you, non of this is possible...thank you (as the music begins to play and I walk off stage holding my grammy award....seriously, did I just give an acceptance speech?!)

Advertisement



21st January 2009

Computer advice
MK, I remember when I was having some issues with my computer and you told me to through it out the window, i wish i had listened. that's some expert advice that the best trained geek squad in the world can measure up to.
22nd January 2009

Your silly
The speech was lovely, and I'm glad I got to see you again before you left the states once more. I'll be keeping an eye on your blog site, living vicariously through you as always. Love you and stay safe!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb