4 Hours to Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
May 16th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Guinness is Good for You 59 secs
2: Walking on the Beach 46 secs
And I am....not quite....not quite......and.... done! This morning I had a three hour exam for my Unionism Under the Union course on a Saturday (Yeah!). There is nothing like Unionism to wake one up in the morning. I wrote on Female Unionists for my first essay question, opposition from conservative Protestants to the Act of Union in the 1790s for my second, and Ulster Unionists in the Great War for my third question. And everyone who just read that is now asleep. Anyway, I wanted to post some pictures from trip to Dublin and County Wicklow including the monastic site of Glendalough. Furthermore, I have some pictures from my trip to Castle Rock (the village where C.S. Lewis spent his holidays) beach and the cookout in the student village. So, I have two weeks before I head back to Nashville, so I am going to make the most of my time left by seeing London and parts of Germany. I hope you enjoy the pictures.

Swann


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Lovely Day for a GuinnessLovely Day for a Guinness
Lovely Day for a Guinness

Breakfast of Champions
DublinDublin
Dublin

Millennium Spire
22
2

The Custom House
55
5

Bram Stoker, the writer of Dracula, got married at the church in the center
James Joyce StatueJames Joyce Statue
James Joyce Statue

If anyone wants to make a statue of me, please put me in a pose like this.
Daniel O'ConnellDaniel O'Connell
Daniel O'Connell

The Great Emancipator
Molly MaloneMolly Malone
Molly Malone

In Dublin's fair city, where the girls are so pretty, I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone, As she wheeled her wheel-barrow, Through streets broad and narrow, Crying, "Cockles and mussels, alive, alive, oh!" "Alive, alive, oh, Alive, alive, oh", Crying "Cockles and mussels, alive, alive, oh". She was a fishmonger, And sure 'twas no wonder, For so were her father and mother before, And they each wheeled their barrow, Through streets broad and narrow, Crying, "Cockles and mussels, alive, alive, oh!" (chorus)
Guinness StorehouseGuinness Storehouse
Guinness Storehouse

St. James Gate
66
6

View from Gravity Bar


23rd May 2008

Too cool!!!
Matthew, Your mom came in the other day and told me about your blog. How awesome it is!!! I am so proud of you and that you have gotten to experience Europe as you have. Oh to be young again.....:). Have fun and stay safe. We'll see you when you get home. Take care, Jen
5th May 2012
7

Love your pics
Great job Matt! We were over in November and visited much of what you photographed. Slán agat

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb