I wasn't gonna, but I am


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I really wasn't going to write on here today--but here I am. The hostel, unlike London, actually has cheap internet. One euro for as long as you want. Compared to the 4 euros/hour most of the internet cafes around here seem to charge--yet they're always full.

Guess what? Dublin is actually more expensive than London. They don't have the pound, but they just increase the amount of Euros. Annoying. Again--this makes me want to stay here for a shorter time and run off to the continent where things are cheaper.

Last night when I got back to my room, even though it was only 11pm--everyone was asleep. So in the dark I attempted to get ready. I am no Stevie Wonder so this is quite the challenge. And by that I mean I'm not black. Obviously. In London my roomates were eager beavers and usually by 8am at the latest would SPRING out of bed and be out the door in no time. I think they put crack in the water there so that people sleep less and spend more. This morning though, one girl got up around 8:30, and the rest of us sort of rolled out of our metal bunks around 9. I took my time, so that mean I got the room and our attached bathroom to myself. This hostel actually serves breakfast as part of your fee. As I was making my way downstairs one of the girls from Wisconsin said "hope you're not a vegitarian". Funny. But there was toast and eggs and cereal so I was fine. Actually, I spend much of my time wishing I wasn't a vegitarian because my healthy eating choice has actually turned into an expensive eating choice. If it wasn't for my veggie ways, I could be at Burger King eating cheap Whoppers with everyone else. There are a lot of Burger Kings here. There must be something about Guinness and Whoppers that go to together. Oh I know, i'll create a Whopness, a whopper made with guinnes--then i'll be rich. I have now found a way to solve my financial problems forever. I dont need your donations anymore.

I have received two emails today from people telling me that MORE people are reading this thing. It's almost enough to make me feel guilty about my non-editing policy. Almost. After spending five years of theatre school rolling on the floor pretending to be cake or bacon or a colour, I'm less likely to be considered with what people think. Mostly. Whopness anyone?

So Dublin. It is growing on me, minus the fact that everything is expensive. I actually quite like it. The city itself, much like Edmonton, is split by a river (north and south). I am staying on the north side--but just like Edmonton, the south side is better. Today I wandered around Trinity College (contemplated going to find the theatre department to harrass someone with questions but didn't), visited the Museum (for free), walked through old Dublin (which is beautiful I loved it, and then splurged on a church. That's right. We all know how religious I am (as I work my way through writing a bouffonesquish piece that deals mostly with the bouffon blasphemy side I guess) and I paid money to go into a church. If it's any consolation I lied and said I was a student to save 1 euro. So basically the euro I used to buy this internet time is blood money and I'm probably cursed forever. The church was really beautiful though--but it's an ATTRACTION. The first thing you walk into is the gift shop. The back of the church itself, which is not closed off but is just basically part of the church, is the gift shop. Commerical Catholosism at it's finest (I realize this is a family blog and such... but seriously? Anyone?) There was even a real live organ player, I made a video. I wanted to some how sneak up this tiny spiral stair case that seemed rather magical, but I didn't. I didn't think getting arrested in Ireland would be fun unless I was drunk. Because if you're drunk here I'm guessing it doesn't count.

Speaking of drunk there are SCARY DRUNK IRISH WOMEN EVERYWHERE. I'm not kidding. I think it's my "thing" for this trip. There was one in the park by the Cathedral (where I saw the two most beautiful and perfect Irish children of all time. I almost wanted to go up to their mother and thank her for making such a kind donationt to humanity), and then two of them arguing on the street by my hostel. And then on the way back tonight, another two. They're scary. I don't make eye contact. I'm not afraid they'll physically hurt me, I'm afraid they'll try to fly with me somewhere. Or take the bus. Or get in a car, or rollerblade behind me while I''m walking.

Anyway, I, Lana Hughes, paid to get into a church--and it was beautiful and there were a lot of people there taking pictures, and lots of people burried in the walls.

While wandering, rather aimlessly through old dublin I was starving and trying to find some place cheap to eat. I ignored all things that looked like sandwiches. Then by chance I stumbled upon a miracle. Something that does not exist here on this side of the ocean. Something that is even more special than that magical snow storm of which so many of you are dealing with--a VEGITARIAN RESTAURANT. Not only veggie, but it had vegan options and everything. Cheap? Not really. But there was a lot of selection, and I just couldn't help myself. I got some sort of combo of a main dish and a salad (so like a big plate full of food) for just under 10 euros. It was actually really tasty. Egg plant and something or other stew, and then some sort of noodly salad and I was happy. I realized after that it was actually suggested in my Lonely Planet book. What are the odds? After that I wandered around some more and found St. Stephen's park, which is like their mini version of Hyde Park or Central Park.

I also wrote a lot in my journal today. That's where I swear a lot, and talk about all the drugs I'm doing and such. I realized that I've been in a "hurry", I was still in work mode. Today I'm finally starting to relax, calm down, go and a slow pace and just enjoy stuff. So that's good. That's the rhythm I need. I don't need to be in my run to my two jobs go to rehearsal freak out about the bouffon workshop construction is always making me late i hate serving you water sort of rhythm.

My biggest splurge today was theatre tickets. There's a smaller theatre here that's an off-shoot of the national theatre. It's called the Peacock. They did a show called The Burial at Thebes, which was an adaptation of Antigone. I am being stalked by adaptation of the Greeks in every country that I visit. The theatre was a good sized. Two strange things. 1) they tell people the show starts at 8 but they don't start it until 8:15 so people aren't late. Like they didn't let the house in until about 8. 2) the usher has to YELL to get people in, like about every five minutes until just after 8:15 he had to tell people to come in and sit down. Why are we so polite? These people were really happy with their drinks in the lobby. The play itself was... okay. Nothing really special. The girl playing Antigone was young looking--and didn't really breath for big sections she was on stage. She was trying to play the "look how brave I am, but really I'm very nervous" thing--which made her do an odd little shake. Staging was pretty typical. The set reminded me of Iphiginia 2.0--and it was very post 911. It seems to be a trend. Charles Mee is better than Seamus Heaney, at this I believe.

Before the play started I sort of talked to the girl next to me for a bit, because she was also alone. It was her second time seeing it. She is getting her PHd from Galway Univeristy, and is writing on Medea and Antigone. After the play she was waiting for a ride so we went for a drink and talked theatre and it was great. It was great to get beyond "where are you from? where are you going? and oh ya what's your name?" We exchanged emails, so that's cool. She's from Greece orginially, but is married to an Irish guy.. so her accent is funny. But she was nice. She said I could have stayed with her in Galway (where I think I'll be going after Cork)--but her mom is coming to visit her right away from Greece for two weeks. Oh well, I have a contact in Galway now so that's nice. And her husband has a brother, who isn't married and his name is Gavin. Maybe he'll look like Gavin Rosedale, and we'll have drinks, and... read the bible together.... That's the family edit.

And here I am, back in hostel town. I see Jessi the day after tomorrow! Tomorrow I think I'm going to try and do some laundry in the sink in my bathroom (that's exciting right?) There are also some grave yards, maybe the gallery. Natasha (the girl from greece) said I should try and go talk to someone from the theatre department at Trinity, so I just might. I have a feeling I can upload photos on this computer too.. so I might try and do that.

Until next time. I'll keep you up to date on the Whopness. Who reads this thing? Tell me! I can't get text messages, so it's the least you can do!
green x's and o's
Lanalu



Advertisement



24th April 2008

i do i do i do
hey lu, i read it, so here i am, with you allll the way. wooohoo. its exciting. i wish i was there. im getting europe sick, is that the same as homesick? hmm well, in any case...i do hope you're well AND that we can actually talk sometime instead of me just creepily reading what you write and you never knowing quite when that occurs. huuugs and love, mich.
24th April 2008

No Comment
Sounds like you are having a good time so far, finally getting over jetlag and such. I miss you lots but don't really miss TA that much...weird. Love Ya...be safe but have tonnes of fun!!!

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb