I'm HERE!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Whelan's PubWhelan's PubWhelan's Pub

Famous for live music!

...the Guiness really is better here!



So i arrived around 9am Dublin time on March 1st. The flight went well...i slept most of the way. I spent most of my first day just wandering around City Centre, Dublin making an attempt to acclimate myself. HA. good luck! Luckily though, the people here are SO welcoming and always willing to share a story...even when all you wanted was directions to the pub. I'm making a joke out of it, but really it's such an amazing thing to meet a person for 5 minutes and before you know it you're laughing harder than you ever thought possible over a "lovely pint" of guiness at Whelan Pub listening to live bluegrass with Kiefer Sutherland! ahahahha! (but that's another story all together!)

After a day of wandering around O'Connell Steet (think Times Square) I was ready to see the REAL Dublin. As luck would have it, I had arranged to stay with my roomate's (Shuggy) family. I can't even begin to describe the warmth and gracious hospitlity of the Porter family. Mick and Niamh welcomed me with open arms, got a good meal in me and then we three sat around until 4am wrapped in conversation that ranged from politics to music to love and loss...it was a night that i'll never forget.

Needless to say, I slept in the following day. When i finally got my day started, I squared away some business with my mobile phone, then it was off to Central Dublin. I visited Dublin Castle, Christ Church Cathedral and made a pass through Temple Bar (a fun place...but somewhat pricey and a little too touristy for my taste)

On a side note, I've given up coffee (at least for the time being) it's all about the TEA here and I'm all about it! (Lyons is best!).

Eventhough it's only been two days, I miss New York, I miss Amy! Right now i'm counting myself lucky that i have a good roof over my head, a hot shower every day, and everyone i meet speaks English, I'm trying best i can to savor it, because i know that it won't be long until I won't have any of these comforts. All said, i'm SO grateful to have made Dublin my starting point! If all goes according to plan I should be here in Dublin for at least
Garden Of RemebrenceGarden Of RemebrenceGarden Of Remebrence

A Beautiful and very moving spot. I sat here for a while on my first day.
a few more days then it's off to Galway for a few!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

A Beautiful ThingA Beautiful Thing
A Beautiful Thing

My first "lovely pint"
At Whelan'sAt Whelan's
At Whelan's

These two where great. We talked for a while at Whelan's Pub.


3rd March 2008

AWE
YAY BABE! I told you about the TopShop! Holler! Todd got a very sweet jacket there when in England. WOOT. And PS you spelled "were" as "where" in one of your pictures. You are SO pretty. Baby, go rock it in the Free and Non-Free world!
3rd March 2008

GUINNESS
I can talk to some peeps about getting you a tour of the brewery dude. Keep checking back here and on your email...
3rd March 2008

Oh hell yeah.
DUDE....have Irish stew at a bar for breakfast and a pint for me!
4th March 2008

for real
you're the sh*t, dude. i'm completely proud of you and love that we get to see pics of your adventures. big hug and mucho mucho love!
5th March 2008

So glad you're having a great time. The blog is great. I'll be checking it often.
7th March 2008

YAY
You are amazing! We miss you already! You drink Guinness for me I'll drink coffee for you!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb