Dublin in a day


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
November 25th 2006
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Irish street signs, Irish street signs, Irish street signs,

Everything including the buses had the Irish words as well, a bit over the top!
Travelled to Dublin while I was in Belfast. Caught the train at 7.00 in the morning it was freezing, 3 degrees!
But by the time I got to Dublin was heaps warmer 7. But it wasn't raining and the sun was actually visible so I spent the day wandering around the city trying to see as much as I could. I went to Trinity College cos I have always wanted to see hte book of Kells and lucky Me on the day I went to view it they were renovating the exhibition so I only got to see colour copies of the book. Was a bit dissapointing but never mind. Saw the Trinity college library, it was incredible the most amazing library I have seen huge arched book cases lined each wal from the very top which was high to the bottom and they were really old leather bound book. Apparently the library is still used everyday for research. Also in there was the oldest Irish harp. Very cool.

Then I wandered around abit more, went down Grafton Street the main shopping area and in to the shopping centre St Stephens. Very nice but too tempting to spend money so I kept walking.

Walked all around St Stephens Green Park it was great they had memorials to famous Irish writers in there and a really nice little lake. I walked further on to ST Patrick's cathedral the site where ST Patrick actually baptised the Heathen Irish! Also saw Christchurch Cathedral beautiful!

I also wanted to check out Dublin Castle and went looking for it but got really lost in all the backs street estates. Eventually got back to the city but still hadn't found the castle oh well next time. By that time it was time for a late lunch then a wander back to the station by a different route so I could see more of the place. Very fleeting visit but great really glad I got to see the city.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Viking tourViking tour
Viking tour

This was a really funny bus tour around Dublin, they made all the tourists wear Viking hats.
St patricksSt patricks
St patricks

Jonathan Swift author of Gulliver's travels was once the Dean here
Grafton StreetGrafton Street
Grafton Street

main shopping street of Dublin


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb