Dingle Peninsula


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
March 2nd 2011
Published: March 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

First ViewFirst ViewFirst View

Dingle Bay
My friends and I rented a cottage in Dingle a few weekends back. There were 11 of us in total and we went horseback riding Saturday afternoon and sat around the fire in the cottage watching movies like Top Gun, Mean Girls, and Ferris Bueller's Day Off in the evening. It was a really nice low-key weekend.

There were very few people in Dingle. A lot of the houses there are vacation homes only used in the summer. It offers (much like the rest of Ireland) a very idyllic landscape. A lot of my pictures are from the shipyard that my roommate Hannah and I stopped in.

I'm going to Dublin tomorrow for a Decemberist's Concert. I think its really ironic that a I'm going to see The Decemberists in Dublin, Ireland even though the lead singer is from my same hometown all the way back in Montana! It should be a great show and I'm so grateful to my friends Andy and Gabriel for buying me the ticket!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Vacation HomesVacation Homes
Vacation Homes

Most of the houses around our cottage were vacant because they are only in use in the summer.
Quilted MountainQuilted Mountain
Quilted Mountain

So much more ascetically pleasing than fences!
Something I FoundSomething I Found
Something I Found

It was interesting and metal
What Do I Do With My Hands?What Do I Do With My Hands?
What Do I Do With My Hands?

And why don't I ever stand up straight?
The StablesThe Stables
The Stables

At Dingle Horse Riding
Brain Buckets!Brain Buckets!
Brain Buckets!

Very important!
Loaner BootsLoaner Boots
Loaner Boots

Keeping your feet dry is the key to good health
Equestrian PrincessesEquestrian Princesses
Equestrian Princesses

My roommate Hannah and me looking so privileged
Cowgirl Away From HomeCowgirl Away From Home
Cowgirl Away From Home

I really look like I belong back in Montana!
My Horse MegMy Horse Meg
My Horse Meg

Meg matched my hair, so I liked that a lot, but she kept eating when I was trying to get her to walk, so that drove me crazy
Nature WalkNature Walk
Nature Walk

We walked around after our horseback ride and met a really nice family from Cork!
Friends...Friends...
Friends...

I have a few.
Town of DingleTown of Dingle
Town of Dingle

A really nice quaint town with over 50 pubs!


4th March 2011
Sun and Sea

You should so get Kels to paint this one! It's so beautiful! You're going to have to tell me all the great places to go in Ireland!
4th March 2011
Our Cottage

That's the best deal I've ever heard of!
8th March 2011

lucky girl!
You're a lucky girl, Kaelyn, to get to spend a weekend in a cottage in Dingle! Dean and I have always wanted to do that. Dingle is one of our very favorite places in Ireland. I hope you can bring your Dad there to see it for himself! Love you, Aunt Kim
9th March 2011

Good read, nice pictures!
Hey there! That was a nice little post you put up! What did you think of Dingle? Did you enjoy your time there? Personally, I think Dingle is a lovely place. It's so quaint and a great place to just get away from it all. You should fill us in on how you found Dublin and how the gig went! Hopefully you'll have enjoyed Dublin as much as you enjoyed Dingle! -Mike
9th March 2011

I can't believe my kid was on a horse!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb