An Early Start....My Eyes are sore :(


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
March 9th 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Journey So Far

Map.

CorkCorkCork

Welcome to the city of Cork!
Beep...Beep...BEEP

4am and my phone alarm is buzzing away like its cool to be waking up at 4am on a Thursday morning. Not only is it early, but its freezing. When I open the curtains the windows are covered in frost and its still pitch black outside. A burst of excitement rushes through me as I know I'm up this early for a reason... I'm off to IRELAND!

I stand like a withering feotus in the shower waiting for the water to warm up but when it does I get showered and prepped for a backpacking trip around Ireland. Speeding through the countryside at 4.30am in my Uncles Alfa Rameo we arrived at the airport with about 10 minutes to spare on the check in gate. Before long I'm on the RYANAIR jet to Cork, Ireland.

THURSDAY / 9/ 3 / - ARRIVAL - 8:10am

I arrive in Cork (south ireland) and the sun has come up during the flight leaving me with a windy yet bright Irish day. Caught a bus into the city centre where I would be staying for the 1st two nights. Cork is a really old city, 2 huge rivers run through
RyanAirRyanAirRyanAir

RyanAir boarding!
the middle so whenever I got lost I knew what to look for. I also knew where my hostel was at all times as it was right under 'the bells of shandon' which is a huge clock tower with a fish on top. My hostel was cosy and well kept, real value for money (as I would learn). My room equipped with 4 bunk beds (sleeps 8) with en-suite bathroom/toilet. I was the only person in the room untill late evening, run off the house and choice of beds for me!

The day was spent exploring Cork for all its might and worth, as I said an old place with narrow streets and a pub every second or third building. As it approached midday I realised I had not eaten yet, for some reason the first thing I thought was to head 'home' and grab an apple, naah, I had to buy apples 😞. McDonalds it was. Irish McDonalds is awesome. They put care and detail into every burger 😊. In the arvo booking bus tickets and seeing the last off Cork before the sun went down was on the agenda! In the evening I went down to the
Flying OverFlying OverFlying Over

Flying overhead.
theatre and watched 'DATE MOVIE', it was the only movie on for the time I was there... wasn't as bad as expecting!

When I got back to the hostel 3 Korean backpackers had made themselves cosy in our bedroom. They where staying in London as well and after talking for a few minutes we decided the night was young thus with the guidance off some local help, we headed outwards to a local bar with live music. The Irish seem to think that a good pub is one that is the size off a bathroom. Then add your bar, beer and overweight men and what ever space is left over everyone else is treated to. The atmosphere in the bar though was awesome, happy talking leprichans everywhere, interested in where your from and what your doing! I had a Guinness which was OK... I'm not to big on beers but it was bearable, I found a new friend in a drink called BULMERS CIDER. Bulmers... a good cider 😉. Afterwards we checked out Cork a bit more before heading back to the hostel for showers and bed as exhaustion had set in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Window ViewWindow View
Window View

Looking out the window.
Window View 2Window View 2
Window View 2

Looking out the window again.
Bells of ShandonBells of Shandon
Bells of Shandon

I stayed under the bells of Shandon.
StreetStreet
Street

Tpycial Cork Street
Street 2 Street 2
Street 2

Tpycial Cork Street 2
ChurchChurch
Church

Everything in Ireland is about religion... except drinking a lot of beer.
ATMATM
ATM

'It is now safe to switch off your computer' Our money runs on Windows! I found this whilst walking down the main street.. people where looking at it puzzled.
LakeLake
Lake

River that runs through the city centre.
MonumentMonument
Monument

I have no idea on the history behind it but it looks cool.
Night!Night!
Night!

Cork at night!
Lake at NightLake at Night
Lake at Night

The lake at night.


16th March 2006

oh my god WATCH OUT
Hey guy! I got your post card! It rocks bollocks! Give me your postal address when you're at camp america so I can send you something back ;) This update scared me, recently claire and I went to see a movie called "hostel" where backpackers get owned all over the place. And this asian girl (like the one in the picture) gets blowtorched in the face. Watch out man, don't go to hostels with plenty of naked women. It's a trap. Love and Pandas VoRn
19th March 2006

It looks like Billy Elliot place. :o
20th March 2006

mark, i AM billy elliot.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb