Yay for free Internet


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It seems the wind in Connemara & the Cliffs of Moher was too much, as I now have a major case of nose-leak and hurt-throat. I've been barely audible for a couple of days (you should (not) try out ordering food without any voice, it's kinda interesting), but I know my throat is getting better - now it only hurts when I cough or get out of breath. XD Yesterday I coughed up this incredible, sticky yellow slime that would not break. It was really some kind of alien-slime, I believe, that somehow landed in my throat from outer space.

(Whaddaya mean too much info? XD)

Anyhow, I booked a flight back home to next Monday. I like being abroad, but on the downside my sholders ache from carrying so much stuff around all the time. And my feet feel like I have blisters. Well, those I had back home anyway; I walk too much.

I'm in Cork now - I really like this city, more than Dublin. Actually, I like Galway more than Dublin as well - Dublin is much dirtier and busier. Oh, I came across a big second-hand book shop in Dublin, and found probably the coolest book ever: "Men and Women of the Time", 13th edition, printed in 1891 - a Victorian Who's Who! Isn't that cool? I also bought a book I'd wanted for quite a long time: Graham Robb's "Homosexual Love in the 19th Century". Of course, the first chapter I read was about Sherlock Holmes - it was a really bad idea to read it in a hostel room, i.e. in a public space, because it's written so delightfully and Robb makes such interesting observations I couldn't help my fangirly delight, and squeeing in public is really something I'd hope to avoid. XD (Not that I ever do. Ha.) I've read a couple of other chapters too now - it's just as interesting as I thought.

Also, it appears I manage not to look like a tourist, because people quite often ask me the location of so-and-so. Excellent.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb