Where are the Irish people?


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
July 18th 2007
Published: July 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a very long journey from Cambridge via 4.5 hour train and then 2.5 hour ferry, I made it to Dublin. I got a train and then the appropriate bus to taking me to my host Djamal's house. I arrived close to 8pm and was exhausted from all of the travel. He has a very small flat and there was another couch surfer there as well. We all stayed up talking a bit and I went to sleep on the love seat about 10pm. The next day I woke up early and took my time to get out, leaving the house to gry skies and rainfall by 10am. I walked down to the city center on O'Conell street and continued to Trinity College. After being in Cambridge, Trinity college in Dublin had nothing on campus beauty. I went to go see the book of Kells, but decided not to pay the $11 to see it, so I continued to walk the streets in the pouring rain. I got to the Dublin castle and went to the library where there was a leonardo exhibit as well as one on religious traditions, this was free, so I went in... I saw some interesting things, need not describe because I am not sure what they were, but it did get me out of the rain for awhile. I continued on to St. patricks Cathedral where of course again they charge quite a bit to get in. I have come up with a scheme, I ask if i can go to the gift shop, I go take a look at the books and gifts offered about the place, flip through to see what I am missing and occasionaly peek my head and camera around the corner. I did this at the Christs church and a Medeival place called Dublinia also. At Dublinia it did not help to see anything, but I did find an entrance to the tower which gave panoramic view of Dublin and all the scadffolds around the city. I am not sure if I was supposed to go there as nobody was working it and no tourists were there. I left the area and walked through Temple Bar and other town areas, searching for my home at this point. I stopped at the market and got groceries to make us all dinner and thankfully I found the flat around the corner. When I got to the house Djamal was asleep so I started cooking and he woke up just in time for dinner. We both decided again not to go out so we watched Borat instead. Dublin is very populated with forgeigners and tourists, no Irish people where I was. Where have they gone? Where is the green lush Ireland I wanted to see? I need to stay away from the main cities and the the city centers.

I left this morning, actually I got up at noon and then left for the train station. I got my stuff sorted out with Eurail and boarded at 3 hour train to Cork. I am in Cork now and will have to update more later, my net ends in 30 seconds... lol I am safe.. xoxoxox

Advertisement



19th July 2007

don't be discouraged! dublin was not my place either. you may not like cork either. you will like galway or sligo, and of course the islands! try to do the lakes of killarney and the ring of kerry. i know you will love it! xoxo
19th July 2007

The Irish probably all emigrated to the US in the last two centuries...or maybe they're on holiday in Europe while you're on holiday there!! I do know there are a LOT of Poles and Lithuanians there...look out for beets and cabbage!

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb