Pre flight and in flight thoughts.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Shannon
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Finally inside the EU

Finally made into the EU. Now if I can just not get kicked out. . .

Flight 1Flight 1Flight 1

We're taxi-ing in a long line of flights waiting to take off. And I am excited!
I sat in the airport for a good two hours, just being excited. I checked email, made a few calls and felt surprisingly normal considering the journey on which I was about to embark. Unreal, I thought, that I am neither panicking nor screaming in anticipation. I felt calm, and collected and ready for this journey and this new part of my life.

I watched the clouds until the sun set just now on the flight. They were absolutely stunning. There is still a little bit of light reminding me of Atlanta just behind the wing, out my window. Imanaged to snag my own row, since our flight is only half full. ‘Take the Lead’ with a studly, dancing Antonio Banderas has stolen the attentions of most of the passengers still awake on the flight. Those who are asleep have twisted themselves into the most precarious positions, yet seem to be totally at ease. They won’t feel that way when they pry balled up fists from under chins seven and a half hours from now.

I am slated to arrive at 8:30 AM, at Shannon Airport. I can’t wait to spend the day wandering around. Supposedly there is a
Flight 2Flight 2Flight 2

Here we go!!
castle RIGHT by the airport. I might even have an Irish Coffee- it was invented at Shannon Airport soon after the commercial NY to Shannon flight became popular with business men. Fascinating. I look forward to a sore shoulder from my bag, which will become lighter the more of these snacks I eat. I am always afraid I’ll be hungry, and as I eat all the time, that fear is often realized. So, on a budget, my day pack is loaded down with Clif Bars and Lara Bars and VItamin Water and nuts. That’ll all be gone by mid day.

I am filled with a strange energy in seat 45 A, Delta flight 156. I’ve been emailing back and forth with one of the women from my workshop. I had thought that the ego-less quality that I had found in the work at CPA would translate to other countries, other work that requires such a physical commitment. And yet, the attitude seems to have already leaned toward “this is what I have done, and I’ve worked with these important people.’ Strange? Or just a normal mode of operation for a group of artists who have never met? We are
Flight 3Flight 3Flight 3

This got more and more beautiful as we went along.
so terrified of falling into oblivion, I think, because not only would a mansion and maid be lovely, but also we want so badly for our work to mean something, to change the world of art and life as a whole.
Deep thoughts, with Katie Merritt.

More once I land in Ireland. It’s supposed to be beautiful!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Flight 4Flight 4
Flight 4

More clouds. I've got about fifty of these.
Flight 5Flight 5
Flight 5

I could not stop grinning. As well I should not!
Flight 6Flight 6
Flight 6

Just before I fell asleep.


17th July 2006

Hazah!
Just letting you know I'm keeping up with you! Looks great so far. I can't wait to see what's next!
18th July 2006

Yay!
I'm so happy for you! Your plane photos are great!
26th July 2006

YES!!
i can feel your anticipation here...for sure...the excitement and the great fortune to be on such an awesome expidition of the soul. and plus, i got a text from you right after ;)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb