Doolin - Day 1


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Doolin
October 13th 2014
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 53.016, -9.37758

So this morning I was up early to get packed and out the door. Even though I had only been in Tralee 2 nights I had stuff all over the hotel room, hangovers do not inspire tidiness. I was on the road just after ten and making my way to Tarbert. I was really winging it as I had not done any research on when the ferries leave. Fortunately for me there is one very hour. I had to wait about half an hour for the ferry, and then the trip across the Shannon was only half an hour again. The ferry pulled in at Kilrush and from there I drove to a little place called Kilkee where I stopped for lunch. From there on I think I stopped at every second town for one reason or another. Killkee for lunch, Doonbeg for a cold drink, Quilty for cash and Lehinch because they have an awesome beach so I had to take photo's.

After Lehinch I made my way to the Cliffs of Moher. The cliffs are huge and quite beautiful in a rugged kind of way. The caretakers in the area have very sensibly built a wall along them so no-one gets blown off. Although there were signs telling people to not climb the wall, so I guess some people just don't get the point. As I walked up to the visitor centre I saw shops built into the hill, it was a bit like Hobbiton. The visitor centre had lots of displays but it was all geological stuff and didn't really hold my interest.

After the cliffs I made my way to Doolin. This little village is the gateway to the Aran Islands which I will check out tomorrow. It is clearly a popular tourist spot as there are dozens of little B&B's in this little town. However I had to knock on four doors before I found one that was open and had a room. The hosts recommended some of the pubs in town that have traditional music but I was to tired to go out. I settled for a quiet night in and caught up on my blogging, dud some research and just generally chilled out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb