Iceland 2015


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
May 7th 2015
Published: April 9th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had wanted to visit Iceland for a very long time. We started a flight there 2 years ago, but it is always full. It had run from June 1 to September 1, which is peak season. In 2015, they started it on May 2. I knew that this would be a great opportunity to get a ride on it before the loads get full, and so the planning began.



My family did not have any desire to go because of the cold weather. I generally do not like to travel without them anymore, but I could not pass this up.



I watched the flight loads and they were holding up. I started to get some bookings made. I have become a big fan of Airbnb lately and looked there first. I did not find anything I liked though, so I went to Expedia and found a decent hotel that I booked. About a week out, a co-worker of mine heard that I was going and he wanted in.

Perfect! Now this trip will cost half as much.



On Wednesday May 6, we flew on Delta 2242 from Indianapolis to Detroit. I was in coach seat 25A for the quick flight on the MD-88 aircraft. We had about 3 hours there, so we had dinner at a place called Max and Erma's.



Our next leg was also on a Delta MD-88. This was Delta flight 2174 from Detroit to New York/JFK. I was in premium economy seat 10A for the hour flight.



We had about an hour at JFK so we just waited.



There is a nonstop from Indianapolis to JFK but it left too early and we did not want to have to sit there for 10 hours.



Finally, at 11:10pm, we were on board Delta 470 to Reykjavik. This was a 757-200 aircraft and I was in premium economy seat 22C.

I had the entire row to myself so I could stretch out. I ate the quick meal and had 5 gin and tonics, while watching the movie "The Big Lebowski". I then lay down and caught a few hours sleep before our morning arrival into Keflavik Airport. We arrived about an hour early, so we were happy.



Customs and Immigration was a breeze! We were through in just a few minutes. We headed down and exchanged a little money and then went to get our car hire.



We had planned to visit the Blue Lagoon first. However, with so little time, we decided against it and focused on the natural Iceland instead. I do want to experience the Blue Lagoon though, so a return trip is a must.



By 10am, we were on the road to Reykjavik. It took about 45 minutes to get down there, and our first stop was the Hallgrímskirkja Church.



We stayed there about 30 minutes. The views from the top were amazing, although it was very windy. The ambient temperature was 39F, but the wind brought it down to below freezing. I was just happy that we had sun and blue sky though!



Next we drove down to the waterfront and saw the Sun Voyager, and the Harpa Concert Hall.



By noon, we were on the road to Gullfoss Waterfall. As we drove, we admired the barren scenery. Our first stop was to the Kerið Crater. We stayed there about 30 minutes. On the next part of the drive, we stopped at a little mini mart and had a quick lunch. We chose to get a famous Iceland hotdog!



Next, we went to see Geysir and were there about 20 minutes.



A few minutes drive from Geysir brought us to Gullfoss. It was very cold and the wind was blowing ice crystals at us, but we stayed out there 30 minutes to take in this amazing sight.



By this time, it was 3pm and we still had two waterfalls that we wanted to see in the south. We were tired, but we drove on.



We made it to the south to see Seljalandsfoss Waterfall, and Skógafoss Waterfall. They were amazing! The sunset treated us to rainbows from the mist too.



I think it was after 5pm when we headed west back to Reykjavik. We were so tired, but I was able to stay awake and drive. I think I had a second wind, and I was excited from all that we saw.



Before heading to our hotel, we grabbed a quick fast food dinner.

It was after 8pm when we check in to the hotel. We got online for a few and then fell asleep very easily. I awoke at about 5am due to the early sunrise.



We both got ready and then went down for the hotel's free breakfast. We left the hotel at 7:30am and were at the rental return by 8am. We returned the car and went to get our flight. This flight was also lightly booked, with only about 50 people on it.



At 10:30am, we were on Delta 257, which was another 757-200 aircraft. I was in premium economy seat 22A for the 5 hour flight to New York/JFK. I had the entire row to myself again, which is always nice. I almost like that as much as being in business class. Well, almost...



I had the quick lunch and 5 gin and tonics, while watching the movie "Taken 3".



I also listened to several songs of various bands on the inflight entertainment. We had a nice tail wind and so we arrived about an hour early. Good thing too, as we had an hour to connect. Well now we had two!

We cleared Customs and Immigration within 20 minutes and went to our connection.

At about 2pm, we were off to Indianapolis on Delta Connection flight 4036. This was a CRJ-900 aircraft and I was in first class seat 1A. I had already had enough booze, so I stuck to water, and lots of it. I also had a few snacks.

This flight was about an hour and a half, and we also arrived into Indy about 1 hour early. Nice!

It was good to be home. I slept very well that night.

I liked it a lot over there! Although, I do not feel that I need to return, I would go back if I got the chance to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb