Golden Triangle/Iceland


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Selfoss
August 3rd 2012
Published: August 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We saw friends and we saw waterfalls. It sprayed a little water but it was fun. We saw horses and one horse tried to eat my hand. We saw a horse show. We got to pet them and it was really fun. We saw geysirs. They smelled like eggs. We saw a really big one and it was fun. We went to a little park and me and my friend saw a beautiful place. I called the flowers "celebration flowers". It was really fun. - Sofia Aug 3, 2012 Journal Entry.

So after a good night sleep we met Lenny and Maddie at their hotel just a few blocks away. It was so good to have a friend my age on the trip. We took a day tour through Reykjavik Excursions, the same company that took us from the airport to the Blue Lagoon yesterday. I had fun on the bus with Maddie, playing games and on our ipads and ipods.

The first stop was at a horse show. Daddy did not know this was part of the tour, but I was glad we made a stop there. I pet some horses which were smaller than other horses I have seen. Then we saw a horse show. It was so cool and I had a lot of fun taking pictures.

After petting the horses after the show we were off again, to a greenhouse. While I did not care much about what was going on there, I had fun with Maddie with the Sunflowers and other plants outside.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________



The next stop was one of the MANY waterfalls I would see in Iceland, Gulfoss. It was Incredible. So big and so loud and I even got wet just standing by it. It was so beautiful.

The next stop was the geysirs. As we came up to the main geysir, I loved all the smoke coming from the ground and small little geysirs. However, the main attraction was the big one. I think I was the only person who loved the smell which I thought was a combination of eggs and doritos. First there was a giant bubble and then hot water shot so high in the air. While I was a little bummed I did not get wet, daddy explained that it was VERY hot water and would not be a good thing. It was sooo cool and we watched it many times.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________



The final stop was Pingvellir. I had a lot of fun in this park. This is where the American and European plates come together (though I dont really understand that now) and there are big cracks in the ground. Also, it had an area known as parliament, but all I really cared about was playing with Maddie in the grass and the flowers. We found flowers that we called "celebration flowers" as when we moved our fingers down on them, things flew off the stem.

______________________________________________________________________________________________



Then it was a bus ride back to Reykjavik, eating and playing in the main square. We needed then went to our seperate hotel and hostel as tomorrow was a very big day.....Greenland!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Me and Maddie Hanging OutMe and Maddie Hanging Out
Me and Maddie Hanging Out

Before checking out Gulfoss
Geysir EruptingGeysir Erupting
Geysir Erupting

Really Cool
"Celebration Flowers""Celebration Flowers"
"Celebration Flowers"

Having so much fun with Maddie in Pingvellir


29th August 2012

Gulfoss
Good you had good weather at Gulfoss....I arrived their an hour after the first snow of the year....3cm on arrival...close to 10cm on leaving the place...and not a single soul around...I had no intention to spend my winter stuck there...so I made a fast picture...and left...
29th August 2012

We had stopped by hoping to see the horse show
...but it had just ended. We are having a great time. Currently in Mytavn. Enjoyed your blog.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb