We made it!


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
August 21st 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well we made it!

Weather- Damp and Rainy on and off
Temp- about 13 degrees
Location- Reykjavik Downtown Brach

Touched down at Keflavik at about 10 30 Saturday night, found the car rental desk, was given the keys to our car and we had to make our way over to the guest house in Grindjavik(sp?)

Everything was lovely there, and we had to leave yesturday for our new accomodation over in Keflavik yesturday. The place looks like a HOLE from the outside, but it is rather pleasent inside. The stairs are only about 5ft 10 high so needless to say I keep hitting my head on the ceiling on the way up!

Yesturday was lovely, driving on the right is hilarious as I don´t have to drive! and I´m sure Brian wouldn´let me loose in the car anyway! we popped accross to the Blue Lagoon and had a look, then we popped down to the Down Town Office in Reykjavik to make sure we could find our way today. The roads here are ace, I get lost in Swindon a lot, but we havent got lost once here yet! thats because im such a super map reader! Shame I can´t pronounce the roads we are heading towards!

Then we popped along to GUNNHUVER which was really lovely, I lost my foot in some wet clay substance, only to find it was about 100 degree melted clay substance and melted part of my shoe, ace! trekked around the lake which is a crazy baby blue colour and nosyed around the steam things that steam out of the ground, which is a pretty amazing sight.

Me and Brian thought we would go down to Keflavik for a pint, and had a shock! 500 kr for half a gunniess! thats about 4quid! and had an even bigger shock in Dominos pizza 2300kr for a pizza! hahah!

Anyway, I am currently in Reykjavik, have learned most of the system but there are a load more cars to learn and catergories! and I think Brian is off washing cars someplace. And I´m actually not sure whats going on, I was told to wait and browse the net! I think we are being whisked off to Keflavik Airport again in a bit to go to our new job, which is exciting.

I don´t think I ever want to leave here, its actually amazing.

Will update when I get onto the net again sometime with pics as we have already took quite a few!

Hayley xxx

PS Someone send me beer!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb