End of the line...


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well everyone, it would appear that my time in Iceland is nearly at an end.
I went to tourist information today, desperately searching for anything else to do.
Their summary of my situation was pretty much that, at this time of year, without a car, there's very little else I can do!
Not often a tourist information centre will be that blunt with you but, of course, this is Iceland.
I've just got back from quad-biking across a lava field and through a geothermal power station, that was dangerously fun! If there's a quad bike going back in England, I'd happily buy it. They can do anything!
High point was skidding round a mountain pass, covered in snow, coming down into the power station! A lot of fun, despite the torrential rain which is currently with us here on the Reykjanes peninsula.
I'm booked into my hotel until Tuesday. Tomorrow is the Blue Lagoon, Monday is shopping and after that, I've not got much option but to come home.
My original plan to come back via the Faroes, Shetlands and Orkneys has been somewhat scuppered by the fact that ferries do not start running between Iceland and the Faroes, or the Faroes and the Shetlands, until the last week of May, far too long for me to manage!
As for what I'm going to do now my gargantuan plan of campaign has fallen through, I'm not at all sure, but I will do something memorable. Rest assured, I won't be ending my gap year here.
I feel a bit foolish, truth be told, that I've been stumped so early on.
But overall, I've achieved my goal of seeing what Iceland is like, if not the circumnavigation. I think I'll call this a recon mission!
I don't want to go straight back to work so when I'm back on home soil, after settling back in, I'll begin to formulate some ideas.
I'm not at all unhappy with what I've done. I don't think I could have done much more without losing a) all my money or b) my sanity (I think of Grundarfjörður!).
I've got some great photos of just about everything of significance in Iceland, a nice little video diary and a journal, even a few poems, to show for it.
I'll be back soon, I'll keep you all updated.
I got further than Rotherham at least! (Little in joke with my father!)
Lots of Love
xXxXx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb