Back in Reykjavík!


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
April 6th 2007
Published: April 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been back since yesterday but this is my first chance to get on the internet.
Well, what a greeting back to civilisation after Grundarfjörður!
I'd been in Reykjavík maybe 45 minutes when, browsing the music section of the Icelandic equivalent of Borders, I looked to find Jonsí, the lead singer of Sigur Rós doing exactly the same thing!
I shook his hand, and then we had quite a conversation, why was I in Iceland? Did I like Reykjavík?
He was very pleasant. For all those interested, the recording of the new album is going OK!
Then he was off into the cold wind of the Reykjavík street with a little wave and a smile as he buttoned down the earflaps on his tweed cap!
I was stunned obviously but managed to keep my composure until he was out of sight!
Anyway, I went snowmobiling today. And, another bonus, there were odd numbers so who ended up with a snowmobile all to himself for an hour?
That's right.
It was very fun, rocketing across Langjökull glacier (the second largest in Iceland and third largest in the world) at 80km/h!
And paid another visit to Gullfoss, Geysir field and Þingvellir on the way back for some more photos.
So, tomorrow I'm off quad-biking in 'The Valley of Black Sand' which, as the name suggests, is a volcanic sand laden valley!
I'm feeling ten times better now that I'm back to something approaching civilisation.
A trip to the Blue Lagoon to chill out is planned for Sunday and then I'll assess my situation.
Hope everyone's alright! I'll get photos up when I've paid for more than 15 minutes of internet time!
Lots of Love
xXx

Advertisement



7th April 2007

Mucho impressed that you actually met the lead singer from sigur ross! an achievement in itself in my eyes!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb