Museums and the City


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
April 1st 2007
Published: April 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well money was getting a bit tight by now so I decided to opt for day pass at £10 per day and that I was going to get maximum value for money. So I got up at 7am, had brekkie and headed to the thermal pool and left there by 9.45 to get the first bus to town.

I decided to head to the biggest museum first- the National museum of Iceland. It told me EVERYTHING I ever wanted to know about Iceland and was one of those cool interactive museums where u could press loads of buttons (ok so Im a big kid- nothing new there!).Anyway from there I wandered around Rekjavik city centre and then finally headed towards the settlements museum. Did you know whereas 70% of Icelandic women originate from UK, 80% of Icelandic men originated from Norway?

By now I was getting all museumed out and a tad cold so I decided to head back towards the hostel to chill out yet again in the thermal pools! I had to be up by 5 am for my flight home so ended up spending rest of my evening with few chaps in the hostel drinking brandy and lemonade (that one of them had brought bottle off from Duty free).The last of my block trip bookings was over. But watch this space I think Iceland might be revisited in the Summer months.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb