Is this normal?


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

It isn't really travel anxiety except in the sense that I'm anxious to get out of this place. What do you call it? Travel looking-forward-to-y-ness? Travel excitement? Travel lack of sleep?
One one hand I'm really excited, so much that my heart beats faster just thinking about it (oh, freedom, sweet, sweet freedom!) but then again I'm really dreading the financial aspect of it. You see, saving money has never been my strong suit, even with my life-long dream of seeing the world as a goal. I'm trying, I really am. But life here is so deadly dull. There's nothing to do but smoke and drink copious amounts of coke and - one night a week or so - beer. And write long, pointless blogs of course.
Only 99 days, 3 hours, 22 minutes or so until my flight leaves, and so far I have...a reserved seat. Next month I'll buy my Roskilde Festival ticket (via Denmark-based proxy, as it's slightly cheaper) and the month after that...nothing. All my money (apart from the enormous amounts being "donated" to various... charities
*cough* including-butnotlimitedto-breweriesandbigtobaccoandallthemanymanypeoplewhohavelentmemoneycrapcrapcrap *cough*)
will go towards my travel funds.

Anyway. I somehow managed to get through five years of Roskilde without money, I'm sure I'll manage a month in Europe. With my trusty sidekick, the good people of CouchSurfing.com and an indomitable spirit (or spirits, as it were), I shall overcome!

And yes, my plight is entirely comparable to that of people who have suffered centuries of incredible institutionalized oppression fighting for their basic civil rights. How dare you suggest otherwise?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb