Yeah, yeah...


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » Southwest » Reykjavík
February 22nd 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I know I probably shouldn't be writing this much before leaving, but I can't resist. There's something inspiring about a blank page, like it screams out "Write something!" Besides, after a few hours of reading travelblogs I'm getting really annoyed, and I need to vent. Here we go:

What the hell is up with these people? I've been looking through blogs here and there, trying to find some Interrail ones, and so far I've found a lot of good ones, and a lot of bad ones. Why are the bad ones bad? Well, for one, they're mostly written by Americans with more money than sense, who spend their time zipping from city to city, obsessed with seeing the tourist sites, complaining about the rain and spouting xenophobic remarks, mostly about the French. To be fair, most of them seem to be along the lines of "I expected the French to be rude, stinky, cheese-eating surrender monkeys, but they're alright, really." It's the rest that bugs me. The ones that go on at lenght about how glad they were to find an American-owned hotel, so they wouldn't have to deal with "The rude people aunt Selma ran into last year, who stopped her from taking pictures of this lovely little painting on a ceiling in Rome, and forbade her from letting her kids run amok in the Louvre." These are the people who eat at McDonalds exclusively, because "God knows what could be in that sausage" and are deathly afraid of leaving the hotel after dark, because "there were some suspicious characters loitering outside earlier." Well, go on a nice little package tour, then! Don't brag to all your friends about how suave and sophisticated you are, travelling across Europe for a few weeks if all you're going to do is complain about the fucking weather and eat Big Macs the whole time!

Having said that, I know these people probably go home and tell their friends they had a wonderful time, and to be fair, they probably did. But did they really learn anything from their experience, other than the fact that McDonalds in Salzburg or wherever has a fancy wrought-iron sign?
I'd rather try to experience something new on my travels (however limited they may be so far), than spend the whole time doing something I could just as well have done at home.

Before anyone brings up my admittedly relaxed trip to Turkey last year, I know I wasn't exactly...active. But, in my defense, I did do a lot of things I never would have done at home, and, more importantly, there wasn't a McDonalds in sight.


Advertisement



4th March 2007

funny
Hilarious blog !!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb