Do you really want to eat that?!


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Szentendre
May 21st 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

At 1pm, we met part of our group and the local guide to visit SZENTENDRE, a cute town with cobble-stoned streets and many little shops, all in one area. Two girls from the other Cosmos group were late, so our bus left them. We toured the MARZIPAN MUSEUM that had many things on display made of marzipan from the House of Parliament, kings and queens, cartoon characters and even a life-size figure of Michael Jackson! Imagine having to eat him! No thanks!!!!

We enjoyed a drink and cake with chocolate icing at an inn and then climbed narrow steps to a Greek Church. Our guide pointed out that people grew their gardens in the center of their homes. Up here we had views of this and many red rooftops of the village. There was also a "Blue Angel" on top of one of the churches. Our guide gave us another hour on our own to shop. I mostly window shopped until I met up with Liam and Sylvia, the couple we met our 1st day. I saw a shirt I liked and Liam was trying to bargain for me but the price was still the same. It was a good
Wedding cakeWedding cakeWedding cake

Made of marzipan
thing I didn't buy it because later I found a more traditional one in our hotel gift shop that I really liked. We had Marzipan for dessert a few times and I can honestly say that I did NOT like the taste of it. I'll take chocolate over that any day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

CarriageCarriage
Carriage

Marzipan museum
Yes, they even had MJYes, they even had MJ
Yes, they even had MJ

would you want to eat him?
Garden that keeps on growingGarden that keeps on growing
Garden that keeps on growing

right in the middle of this home
Blue AngelBlue Angel
Blue Angel

We had no idea what it represented
SzentendreSzentendre
Szentendre

shopping area


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb