Eaten Alive by Pest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
May 21st 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Who would have thought that Budapest has the largest population of mosquitos that I have encountered thus far on my travels. For the first half on the 'Pest' side there have been no sign of them. I come over hear and they think I'm a walking cheeseburger with extra ketchup... I'm here for the taking come get me! People walk upto me on the street and ask if im suffering badly from acne, I politely tell them to 'take a hike' and let them know that the mosquitos here are man eaters and they should watch out... they will be next mwahaha.

The past few days have been very laid back. Haven't got upto too much at night and during the day doing very lighty touristy stuff. I'm starting to feel a longing hunger. I haven't had a cooked meal nor a proper shower in 3 weeks. The stench of my socks in my backpack is enough to turn any polite and interested local away from me. Hey, im a backpacker its in my bloooood.

So not yesterday but the day before I headed into the shopping district. I got my map and headed out in my newly invested swimming trunks and checked out everywhere that had a till and quirky looking shopkeeper looking for bargains and gifts! I came home with nothing more than a 2500 hungarin fine and an experience in the chinese markets I'd prefer to forget. The fine was for missing my stop on the underground train and the Hungarian security guard felt like getting some money out of me and the Chinese Market... well lets just say it involved the purchasing of knives and an over eager spectator who took a liking to me.

I found an awesome shop called RetRock. They sell the best shoes and jeans they even have a website www.retrock.com but sadly no online shop 😞. I look back and wish I bought these awesome shoes they had there... oh well 😊

Today the plan was to goto the city park and check out there animal enclosure and do all the stuff I hadn't seen before wrapping up my tour of hungary. On the way to my delight, for the 2nd time in 2 days I got done on the public transport. The thing about here is; everyone says dont buy a ticket. They are not guarded and if a guard comes on then you just hop off. The way of life is to just hop on and of as you please. I must have a sign on my forehead saying 'Tourist come get money from me noooww!!!'. After going through hassle yesterday I had grown from it and knew how to handle myself. When she demanded 2500 I told her Id be glad to give her 250 as I did not have 2500 on me. We got of the tram and she wanted to take me to an ATM to draw her money out. I said my bank cards do not work and am awaiting money from my parents which wont clear for 2 days. After 15minutes of rambling and supposedly 'ringing up her superiors' it came to the point where she knew I wasn't just going to depart with 2500 big hungarian dollers so she left me with a slap on the wrist. Hungary Scammers 1 - 1 Jon.

I headed down to central park feeling happy with myself and things got a whole lot better when I walked into the Hungarian Marathon. I walked into the park and took advantage of the free bananas, free yoghurt and free fruit juice being given out and lended my support on the cheering range hoping that someone might recognize me on Hungarian TV. What i was thinking I do not know.

After trekking around the rest of the day and saying goodbye to Budapest I look at the place with a lot to see, a lot to do, but a very dirty and poor place. The sight of bums is unbelievable and the graffiti is pretty bad but the perks by far outway these setbacks. Tomorrow morning I hit the road again catching a bus to Vienna, Austria!

Advertisement



26th May 2006

how much is 2500 thingos?

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb