House of Terrors.


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
June 4th 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I asked Miriam what she advised I should see. She drew on my map a couple of streets I should take a walk down, as well as a memorial/museum called the House of Terror.
Now just to let you know today probably wasn't the most exciting of days but it was extremely moving.
I got to see St Stephen's Basilica, the Opera House, House of Terror and I then revisited Heroes Square (when it's not full of men on horses) and the City Park.
I walked down the streets just looking at the amazingly old buildings, seeing the homeless and the beggars (it's very sad that there are so many homeless, there really are everywhere you go).
So I was just looking at things, the best part was definitely the House of Terror, it was all about how Hungary was involved with and taken over by the Nazi's. I believe one video clip that I saw there will stay with me for the rest of my life, there was a tractor pushing hundreds and hundreds of dead bodies in to pits dug out for the dead. Just reading and seeing what happened and how it happened was horrific. I got to see replicas of the cells where prisoners were kept. Rooms where they were tortured, and just generally horrible stuff. Yet again there were meant to be no photos taken, and yet again me being the bad arse I am...did!
After the house I went to Heroes Square and then the City Park where I had a siesta, I have become a huge fan of these afternoon naps in these beautiful parks, especially after all that walking.
I arrived back at the hostel and am now preparing for a night out on the town, well at least a couple of pubs that Miriam will take me to. I look forward to seeing what night life is like in Budapest.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

TankTank
Tank

A tank that was in the House of Terror.
VictimsVictims
Victims

A wall of lino prints of known, photographed victims.
PaintingsPaintings
Paintings

Those paintings were already squished.
ExecutionExecution
Execution

This is a replica of where and how people were executed...hanging.
Heroes SquareHeroes Square
Heroes Square

Minus horses and dirt.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb