Wherein I Eat a Lot More: The Motherland pt. 2


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
December 10th 2007
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

well, back in december i planned to write a lot more about budapest with great detail, since budapest deserves lots and lots of attention, but alas, i have lost my steam. its been over a month since i was there, and i have had too much other stuff to distract me since then. but, here are pictures from our last two days in budapest and i will describe a few of the highlights.

1) We went ice skating in front of a castle!!! Originally, we went to this park area to go to a flea market in search of cheap souvenirs, but when we got to the flea market we found out that they charged non-locals several dollars (equivalent) just to get into the market. LAME. so instead we went ice skating at this huge, huge rink nearby. We had to wait a little while since before 10 in the morning this rink was the domain of the hungarian olympic ice skating team, but it was fun to watch those guys zip around in their funny outfits. i fell once. cest la vie.

2) we went to budapest's most famous cafe, Gerbeaud. It was not nearly as good as Ruswarm and was much more expensive, but we felt classy going there.

3) We ate some really good street food. I can't remember if I talked about galumpkis aka stuffed cabbage leaves in my last entry, but I got some of those and they were very good. We also got these really excellent sweet bread snacky things that were cooked over coals. Funny story. I was walking down the street eating one of these and this old guy with a back pack walks up to me speaking in Magyar and reaching out his hands to me in an imploring manner. Assuming the worst, I figured he was telling me that he was gonna shank me if i didn't hand over my camera and other valuables so I put my hand over my bag and camera and started to nervously back up. Anna thinks he just wanted some of my snack. I gave him none.

4) There are roman ruins in Budapest. Anna is obsessed with roman ruins so we went and looked at them. They were alright.

5) I got searched going both into and out of Hungary. Leaving Hungary I was attempting to smuggle a dessert
hidehidehide

there were TONS of animal hides for sale in budapest. TONS. one cow hide even had fairly distinguishable facial features. ugh.
in with my stuff to eat on the flight back to England. when they separated my bag to be searched, i thought "oh no. they are going to take my marzipan ball away from me and then they are going to yell at me for trying to take back unpackaged food." the security guard even asked me if i had food with me, and i said "well, yeah, is that not alright?" but i said it really quietly and he either didn't hear me or didn't understand, b/c he pulled my travelbook out of my bag and said "oh, a book. this must be it." So i got to keep my marzipan treat, which is very good b/c i love marzipan.

Lots of stuff happened over Xmas break that I need to write about, so more to follow soon (hopefully).


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

lunch at the Christkindlmarktlunch at the Christkindlmarkt
lunch at the Christkindlmarkt

stuffed cabbage leaves, or galumpki in Polish
treats in gerbeadtreats in gerbead
treats in gerbead

on the bottom: Mexican espresso and cappucino torte on the top: capuccino and a cream cake of sorts
street treatsstreet treats
street treats

i got the coconut kind and anna got vanilla sugar
St. Stephen's BasillicaSt. Stephen's Basillica
St. Stephen's Basillica

this place was huge.
i love anna's expression in this picturei love anna's expression in this picture
i love anna's expression in this picture

it says, "ugh, not more delicious treats!"


26th January 2008

budapest?
I might be going to Budapest next Fall if I can scrape together enough money. And I happen to love Roman ruins. I was afraid the food wasn't going to be any good, and those stuffed cabbage leaves looked rather shady. But everything else looks really, really good. Of course, one can't subsist on sugar-infused cafe fare for five months....

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb