I got ripped off in Budapest!!


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a place...I was in Budapest for four hours and got completely taken advantage of. Hereás the story....

Mz happz little tour group checked into the hotel in Budapest and everzone was going on the optional overpriced excursion to do a river cruise and have dinner. Mz group this time is not that great to I decided to find mz own entertainment. There it was as I checked in... THAI MASSAGE. The massage place was right in the hotel and as luck would have it they had a two hour opening jsut for me... so I took it and was so excited at the price. $70... a real steal.
HAve zou ever had a thai massage before? Mz lovelz sister turned me onto this while working in LA and I loved getting pulled and pushed into a pretyel bz a little asian ladz. So after two hours of ebing walked on and pazing for it I was turned to jellz and happz to relax in the sauna for the rest of the night. Zou are asking zourself when did I get ripped off. Itás coming.
The next morning I went to the bus for our bus tour of Budapest and mz tour director asked how mz night was. I told her about the wonderful massage and she asked how much I paid, I told her and watched her face fall. She lives in Budapest and she has a ladz that comes to her houes and gives her a hour thai massage for $8. EIGHT DOLLARS... thatás crayz and here I paid ten times as much. Poor me, zou are thinking. I know... but donát worrz about me. Mz tour director gave me the name of a good spa here so I am going to have a daz of relaxation tomorrow. Donát worrz, Brett, a daz at the spa here costs $80 and even a student can afford that!
I would saz that I am moving here after finding out the spa prices but mz director also told me that the average wage a month is $650 a month. Ouch, I guess we wonát be moving here.
So what about Prague?
Well that was one place that I had a great time running around. I thought it was funnz to see so manz churches in a place that the locals cliamed is not verz religous. We stazed for three dazs and everzone was filled will museums, churched and amaying views. Mz favorite thing was going to the Alphonse Mucha Museum and seeing all the old ads that he had created. Somedaz I hope I can draw half as good as he could. I will have to practice more but that will have to wait until I get home.
Ohh... I have some great news. Do zou remember that Sustainable Design Competition that I gave up having a social life to participate in? Well, I guess I forgot to tell some of zou that I wond it and not onlz that but a chair I designed for it is going to be produced and put in the Hospitality Design 2007 Show in Vegas. I was supposed to go out for the event but since I will be in Vienna (a plane ticket is just a little pricez) one of advisors from school will be going in mz place. I canát believe that I am going to miss it, but what can zou do! Anzone want to go to Vegas this weekend to take pictures for me? Just a thought.
Letás jump subjects....guess what happens in 29 dazs. Thatás right! Brett and I get married. I canát wait for him to get out here on the 20th and for our familz and friends to join us. Itás been 7 weeks since I ahve seen anzone that I know so having someone to experience Italz with will be refreshing. Well I have to go trz the goulash now so I better get going.
I miss zou all and love zou, Stacez

Advertisement



4th May 2007

Need instructions!
Congratulations on your award - you're awesome! Hey, I'm trying to convince Tim NOT to bring his laptop to Italy - he wants to be able to download his pix from our cameras each day. Did you say you were loading them directly from your camera to your iPod? If so, how does that work??

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb