Budapest Draws to an End.....


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 19th 2007
Published: April 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The saga continues...



The saga continues... Today is our last full day in Budapest, and I'm upset to see it go - its easily been my best stop on the trip so far. We've met absolutely shedloads of really nice people, had some awesome nights out, and generally rocked Hungary's socks off. We've also, as previously mentioned, spent a long time in the hostel, getting to know the lovely people that work here, and leaving our mark a little bit.

Over the last couple of days, We've done some more of the touristy stuff - We went up to the Independence Monument, which is on a huge hill with overlooks all of Budapest, and is possibly one of my favorite view in the world. We also went to the posher baths at the Gellert Hotel, as I said we would, and my word, Turkish baths are nice. Really, really nice. Especially when filled with more pretty girls, and less naked old men. Not that I mind naked old men in principle, its just I could do without them vigorously towelling themselves dry right next to me.

We've met a fantastic bloke called taxi, who almost deserves an entire post to himself - the man
The CastleThe CastleThe Castle

Magyrificant (Pun (C) of Alex Calkin, 2007)
is a true legend. Hes a Japanese guy, whose been living in Sweden for three years, and when he hit thirty he just decided to take off. Hes one of those people who can be waiting in a queue for a club, get chatting to the bouncer, and five minutes later everyone will be let in for free, as the bouncer and Taxi say goodbye to each other like age-old friends.

He also, and this is a statement of fact, owns literally the most comfortable pair of trousers ever created by human hand. I'm in awe.

For now, we leave for Slovakia tomorrow, and then onto Krakow four days later. I got a phone call from Morgan this morning, which may result in us managing a meet up - hes coming (probably) to Eastern Europe.

On that news, over and out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Heroes MonumentHeroes Monument
Heroes Monument

Photogenic! And Climbable On!
I'm fairly sure this is illegal....I'm fairly sure this is illegal....
I'm fairly sure this is illegal....

Photogenic! And Climbable On!


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb